h1

Textures and Patterns

8 September , 2012

This is the second post on Marcia’s photo challenge. (First one here)

image

Wood-chips in one of my mom’s pot plants. You don’t get much more textured than that!

image

Aloe…prickly texture as you can see. This plant is a macguyver. The original mother plant was a gift to my dad yonks ago, but he could never quite decide where to plant it, so it’s still in the container it came in (we’re talking maybe 5 or more years now). Actually the original looks like it’s giving up on life now – but behold this beauty! It just kind of seeded itself from that container into one of the most inhospitable spots in the garden and it’s thriving there. I bet it will look really pretty once it blooms.

image

This little cactus is beyond happy where it is, it is practically covered in flowers all year long – and really all we do is ignore it.

image

Moss covered bark of a fiddlewood tree…a.k.a Tigger’s scratch pole. Nicola has been eyeing this tree for climbing lately.

image

Spring themed cupcakes that we made for Nicola’s class’ bake sale. My mom baked (Nicola and I cracked the eggs, which was good messy fun), and we all iced together. The pink terrorist is all about equal oppertunity. Fot every flower that she placed on a cupcake, she made sure that she placed one in her mouth too.😉

Next week’s theme is sound…I’m getting a bit stuck on that one, but I have a few ideas.

8 comments

  1. Thank you for playing along – I linked you up since your post is up so early I didn’t want people to miss seeing you.

    I LOVE the wood chips!!!!!! And the mossy tree🙂 oh, I want to take pics there.


  2. I dig Nicola’s style. Equal opportunity is the new vogue in time🙂

    I have a similar cactus plant they are so resilient. I sometimes wonder if I water it too much though it gets ignored a lot


  3. Love these!


  4. Love them all but the first one is my favorite. And love the equal oppertunity bit


  5. Marcia, thanks! I think this coming weekend is going to be the really tough one.😉 That tree is in my parents’ driveway – so next time you come bring your camera.

    MrsFF, this one was really tiny when it arrived. I think my mom got it at work for arbor day one year. Seriously it was about the size of a marble, and just look at it now!

    Momma Eagle, thank you!

    Cat, thank you – that’s my girl hey?😉


  6. My favourites here are the wood chips. And the cactus. Your pics are really good.x


    • Thank you…I finally found the setting for close up photos😆


  7. I also have a cactus like the one with the pink flowers! When I bought it it was the size of a ping pong ball and now its huge! But it only flowers once a year (now) and only one ring of flowers…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

