h1

Ghost of weekend past

3 September , 2012

image

Saturday morning we had to go do our big monthly shop. There just hasn’t been any time to do it before now. I was not exactly thrilled about the prospect of month-end weekend grocery shopping, so we worked with a plan. We were there when they opened the door, we stuck more or less to our list, and we were out again within one hour. That’s the only way to do it if you don’t want to get trampled!๐Ÿ™‚

image

We just zipped back home quickly to go unpack and then left again for K’s first of many birthday celebrations. The place that she picked has a Groot Trek theme, which was different. All the bar stools, for instance, are saddles! Of course Nicola HAD to take a ride on one – to the endless entertainment of the heavily tattooed man sitting a few saddles over.

They also had a lot of stuffed animals in there, which isn’t really my thing, but Nicola was fascinated. We were having a look at a Buffalo trophy when very enthusiastic Afrikaans music (also not really my thing) erupted from the sound system and I had such a laugh when Nicola started excitedly jumping up and down dancing, cause she said, “Kyk mamma! Die buffel sing vir ons!” Mwahaha!๐Ÿ˜†

It was good to get out a bit, even though we ended up not staying very long because a certain pink terrorist was really starting to feel her lack of afternoon nap. While we were there she also covered all the motion detectors she could find in lip ice and tried her level best to undo chains and ropes meant to keep things suspended in mid air instead of mid head!

Before heading home I ended up having a little altercation with some cash in transit guys regarding my parking. You see, there wasn’t parking available at the restaurant, so it came down to park in the street or park at the shopping centre next door. After my recent car break-in I decided the shopping centre was the best option but the parking I picked was right next to the ATM. When I got back to the car the cash in transit guys were just pulling in to top up the machine and they parked me in. Then they gave me lip about not being able to open the door because I was parked in front of it. Oh well…whatever. Move your van, I’ll move my car, then you can open your little door. Common sense – not as common as you might think.

image

I had my first swim of the season on Saturday,ย but I ended up having it alone because my dad is very sick, my mom won’t go in the water if it’s under 30’C (it was 26), and Nicola didn’t want to put on a swim suit. I let it slide because I thought she might decide to get into the pool without one anyway, but she really actually wanted to do a bit of streaking across the lawn and I was not so very popular when I threw a spanner in those works and dragged her back inside the house. The swim was lovely – can’t wait for more of that.๐Ÿ˜€

We also baked a massive amount of cupcakes for Nicola’s class bake sale. When I say we, I mean my mom baked (so it’s actually edible), although I did help Nicola break eggs at least (she is a very enthusiastic egg breaker by the way). We iced them together (I’d show you, but I’m saving it for Saturday so you’ll have to wait). Of course there was a lot of quality testing too, especially Nicola who felt that for every flower plonked on a cupcake at least one had to make it to her mouth as well! She also had large amounts of cake batter and straight up icing, so the three hour long afternoon nap she took after that was a bit surprising.๐Ÿ˜‰

Nicola and I also planted some sunflower seeds yesterday. Realistically I know that the container should be able to handle three or maaaaaybe four plants, so that’s what we started with. And while I was taking a walk to go open the tap, certain people decided to go big or go home and dumped the rest of the packet in there as well. It is going to be one spectacular show of sunflowers if they all come up where she put them!

Just before her nap yesterday she found this red thing on a rope and hung it around her neck – it looked a little bit like a yo-yo. I asked her what it was and she said it’s a necklace. I left it. After nap time they were still pretty much inseparable and my mom also asked her what it was. She said it was her Gummi Medalion! Mwahaha – too cute. And then when we were on our way home last night we saw the moon and Nicola kept telling me that it’s dirty and we need to go wash it under the tap at Ouma’s house. It’s not the first time that she’s mentioned this to me, but I finally realised that when I tell her it’s a full moon, or as we say in Afrikaans “Vol maan”, she thinks I’m calling it a filthy moon , “Vuil maan.”๐Ÿ˜† I’ll have to explain this a bit better I think, but it’s one of those super cute things that I want to remember later.

Ps! Marcia, I wasn’t going to sign up, but I went to go look at that Santa’s Shoe Box website because you mentioned it in your post and I couldn’t help myself. I’ve signed us up for one too – a little girl who’s Nicola’s age. Can’t wait for her to help me decorate the box and pick the contents. I really like that you get the child’s name and age when you sign up. It really makes it a bit more personal I think.

I can’t believe we’re about to start Christmas shopping for this year already!

8 comments

  1. I get to do our shopping during the week but still try get there as early as I can – I enjoy the shop but HATE doing it with a million other people! You will actually be amazed how many moms their are shopping during the week (And huge amounts of old people!)


  2. I love month end shopping and so do my daughter but hubby along with son not so much. So me and daughter usually do it together.
    Great weekend you had. Filled with so much activity.


  3. Sounds like a fantastic weekend and my, that place seems weird with the saddles and all.


  4. oh man, I’m in heaven!!!! Thank you for signing up. I love it๐Ÿ™‚ And seriously, it’s not a big deal at all – something here, something there, before you know it, your box is full. And the kids LOVE it.

    I love any shopping but I don’t like the CROWDS…… which aisle is your favourite? Can you guess mine?


  5. PS if you lived nearer we could take the kids shopping together. Actually NO, that doesn’t sound in the least bit like fun! It would be like triplets๐Ÿ™‚


  6. Laura, I bet it’s still a lot quieter than over weekends! I don’t mind the shopping, it’s the queueing that gets to me. And the people parking their trollies in the middle of an isle.

    blackhuff, I think Nicola gets her shopping gene from my mom.๐Ÿ˜†

    Cat, yeah it is quite strange…there are no side saddles at the bar, so if you are wearing a dress you’ll probably end up at a table instead.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Marcia, I’m already wondering how I’ll get all the must-haves to fit in a single shoe box! My mom also said that she’d do a box – so there’s one more for your count.๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m guessing you like the stationary one…I can get stuck for a bit in the toiletries one, since bathing is only one of my most favourite past times hehehe.


  7. I actually loathe shopping and find it stressful. I am one of those who walk with a calculator and add EVERYTHING before I get to the till. My favourite thing to buy in a supermarket = cleaning materials. Mmmm….cool idea on the sunflowers. I think I shall attempt to plant something too!


  8. Julia, they’re pretty resilient so I don’t think you should have any problems getting them going and they’re super cheerful to look at. Some days I feel like carrying some seed with me and popping one into any patch of open ground I come across.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

