h1

#slutwalkjhb 2012

25 August , 2012

This morning was the second annual Johannesburg Slutwalk, and of course I was happy and proud to be part of it!

If you’ve been living under a rock or just don’t know what it’s about, it’s a walk to raise awareness that it is NEVER okay to blame the victim (or survivor as I prefer to think of it) of a rape for the crime. No means No, no matter what you’re wearing. It’s a dress, not a yes as the slutwalkers were chanting.

Sandy (one of the organisers) had me quite emotional with her words before the walk, especially when she spoke about the 5 year old girl who has been raped for the third time!

There were two other brave ladies whose speeches I also enjoyed, but the lady from the NPA left me kind of cold with her ramble.

I didn’t catch her name, but I’d like to tell her: if you come forward after you’ve been raped to report it and the state doesn’t secure a conviction you haven’t failed. The system has failed you! Grrrr…she seemed more focused on the message of “Don’t wash off the evidence.” than “Don’t blame the victim.” which is what the walk was really about.

Anyhoo, on to the photos!🙂

image

Angel and Volt.

image

Jon and Sheena.

image

Sandy.

image

Marieks (she managed to collect 38 rape survivor bags!)

image

image

image

image

image

image

Some of my favourite outfits from the day. That last one was a guy wearing photos of a friend who was raped and murdered last year!

image

image

image

image

image

I will keep walking for this cause, untill there is no more cause to walk for!

Hope to see you there next year…

11 comments

  1. http://www.angelsmind.co.za


  2. Crap! What happened to my comment!??!


  3. What I said was – you said it very well indeed! The walk was fabulous and it was awesome to see you again! I was very proud of my Volt’s behaviour too.
    And whilst the other speakers were fabulous, that chick from the NPA completely had the wrong end of the stick AND she was unprepared! Doesn’t say much for rape victims in our justice system unfortunately…


  4. Gosh, I’m really envious of the divine weather over there. It is STORMING in CT. I have the heater going and we’ve just had a decent curry made by DH. Am going to get under the blankets now with my hot water bottle. And read. Glad the walk went well. Do they do this in CT too?


  5. I love that you did this – it totally bypassed me this year (not much on the blogs or am I just not reading the ones who posted?).

    BUT I have issues with an event called Slutwalk – maybe I’m missing it? but it’s the same thing with a product of ours purposefully spelt wrong (I will mail you!)


  6. Angel, your Volt did brilliantly! It was great to see you again!🙂

    Julia, they had one in Cape Town last year, but I’m not sure if there was another one this year. Hope you get some spring there soon.😉

    Marcia, I saw your mail and I agree, that’s a silly name for a product. On the name Slutwalk it’s kind of an integral part of the problem. It speaks to the fact that it shouldn’t matter what you wear or how little of it at a time. If you get raped it shouldn’t matter what you had on. The guilt doesn’t hop from the perp to the victim because of a dress.


  7. Well done for joining the walk. I love the pics. Such a good cause to be supporting.


  8. Looks like it was fun and hopefully the message is getting passed to the relevant people. I would have loved to do this, but unfortunately I only found out about it a few days before (through your post) and I already had the women’s race scheduled for the same day. And last year I heard about it after the event was over. The event needs more publicity if you ask me, especially in a society like ours.


  9. It’s a wonderful cause indeed.


  10. Great on you – loved to see Marieks again and VOlt, such a super star. I feel a bit like Marcia, I understand the name, but I do think if it was named a bit differently I might have been there. But to call it that just gets to me.


  11. Fairy Girl, it’s a lot of fun too!🙂

    Mrs FF, was it the SPAR race by any chance? A lot of people were talking about that one. I agree with you though, Slutwalk could have done with loads more publicity before.

    blackhuff,😀

    cat, I understand why you might feel that way, but to me the name is an integral part of the whole thing. When I think about it I like to remind myself that in some countries even showing your hair or the skin of your ankles is considered slutty, so in that sense I feel quite strongly that it shouldn’t matter what you’re wearing. when you say no, it should be respected even if you choose to run around naked (which might not be something that I choose to do). And hopefully my own daughter will never be the victim of a rape, but if she is (1 out of 9 chance) I might wring the neck of the first person who even asks what she was wearing – because it’s not relevant in my opinion.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

