h1

So how’s it working out?

23 August , 2012

The photos obviously do not relate to the post (as always).πŸ˜‰

20120721_19064220120722_05584320120722_09213520120726_21163520120728_11461420120728_12115620120728_121200

So, you will remember that I told you about the quality time issue we were having that I initially thought was school bully issue?

The turnaround has been nothing short of amazing! Let me start with what we’ve been doing perhaps:

  • Monday: Painting (very messy!)
  • Tuesday: Made popcorn balls (very sticky and messy!)
  • Wednesday: We took my folks for a short walk after dinner (no mess factor, but it was a challenge to dissuade Nicola from pressing every single intercom button she could find!) and colouring in.
  • Planned for tonight: Not sure yet, possibly shopping (she actually loves shopping a lot more than I do so this counts)
  • Planned for Friday night: Perhaps another walk, or maybe something messy – we’ll still see
  • Planned for Saturday: Not sure yet (this will probably be largely up to my folks since I have Slutwalk on in the morning and a birthday party in the evening)
  • Planned for Sunday: Gardening

I haven’t had a single morning tantrum all week after we started this. Not even one. No long lip about brushing teeth, getting up, getting dressed, going to school. Nothing! What bliss.πŸ™‚ We had dinner at my folks last night and even they both agreed that Nicola seems a lot calmer than usual.

We did have an incident on Tuesday night around bath time, but this I think was largely due to the fact that Nicola skinned her foot and shin at school with a fall and I added some Savlon to her bath water to clean it up. She was not a happy camper, but oh well – it’s better than getting a serious infection so she’ll just have to find a way to forgive me on that.

In general I think this new way is working out quite well for us.πŸ™‚

6 comments

  1. Look on the bright side you will get loads of exercise (from walking) while you are itπŸ˜‰

    Guess that was her way of letting you know there was something amiss. I am just happy you were able to nip it in the bud. Good luck with coming up with ideas and fun things to do. I see even more pictures in your futureπŸ™‚


  2. I’m glad that this new things you two are embarking upon together, is working.


  3. Sounds like you’re onto something – glad it’s working out!πŸ™‚


  4. Quality timne works like a charm- one of the main reasons why Lucy now cooks for us so that I can spend time with them. To me it’s juggling the 3 that is an issue.


  5. Mrs FF, true that – and I could do with the walks for sure!πŸ˜‰

    blackhuff, me too. I’m very grateful that it’s not something more sinister.

    MeeA, thank you!

    cat, I don’t know how you do it with 3. Hats off to you my friend.


  6. Gosh, that is fantastic. What a difference a bit of QT makes. Now you know to speak to her in her love language.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

