h1

Some good news at last!

16 August , 2012

And of course no post would be complete without an attempt at a photo catch up!

20120627_16320120120627_17031820120628_06290920120701_09135220120701_09141120120704_073916

So, I just got off the phone with my car guy and he’s agreed to pay for the gear lock replacement!😀 It’s just fair, so I’m very relieved that he’s being reasonable about it without having to make me fight for it. He really went out of his way to help me, so I’m glad it’s been resolved peacefully.

On to another topic, how was that howling wind last night?! I woke up just after midnight cause it sounded like my front door was being opened. Hockey stick and I were ready to take on some intruderd (I am so not in the mood to be burgled again – especially not the second time in one week!), but luckily it was just the wind pushing against the door quite passionately and nothing or no one that needed to be maimed (I had a lot of pent up frustration to unleash too, it would have been spectacular).

Of course after that i couldn’t get back to sleep, so I gave up after an hour or so of trying, evesdropped on the insomniacs of Twitter, and then watched a few episodes of Leverage because it didn’t seem like a good time to go outside for laundry. Eventually at about 3:30am I managed to shut down again for a power nap.

It’s going to be a loooong day… *yawn*

Nicola and I are in denial about the tail end of Winter. We are so over it now. Every morning I check my weather app and if I see it’s going to be over 20 we’re treating it as Spring. For love or money i cannot convince her to put on a jacket or a jersey of any kind, so the best I’ve managed is a body warmer fleecy wait coat-ish creation. In Afrikaans it would be a “onderbaadjie” but any mention of “baadjie” (jacket) and she goes into full wail mode. We are now calling it a waist coat and the major selling point is the pockets. No one may refer to it as anything else until we’ve hit our first 25’C+ day for the season please?

I’m not even going to talk about shoes…

The only pants that she wants to wear are her fluffy pajama pants. It has now reached the point where even to get her wrestled into another pair for school will only work if I let her pack the pajama bottoms in her school bag (it was a lot easier before she learnt how to take her own clothes off!). Apparently they want to be with her (although you may be tempted to think it was the other way around). And I’ve since implemented the bath first, pajamas only after rule and this makes for record fast baths with minimal fuss and tantrums.

Still, this obsession is a bit unhealthy I think. I either need duplicates of this magic pair of pants or they have to “mysteriously” disappear completely like the milk bottles did.

And then lastly, a little note on creativity (or as some might say, exageration)(or as others might say, lying): On Tuesday my mom fetched Nicola from school for me while I was on training. When she saw my mom she told her that the teacher had hit her (obviously in a go get her Ouma type of voice). My mom says that the teacher almost swallowed her tongue in surprise because she says that she most certainly didn’t, although she did have to talk sternly to her because she was in a foul mood all day and refused to co-operate with anything or anyone. All she wanted was to be left alone the entire day!

I have days like that sometimes…I get it.

9 comments

  1. Louisa this child is stunning!!!!!

    Ah the clothes story!! Kiara has sensory issues so when she finds a pair of pants or a shirt she will not take them off:-/ Shopping with her isnt about trying on clothes – it is about feeling them!!!!


  2. I’m also in denial and I too check weather apps, DSTV weather and weather at work every morning. I just want the warmth to come now🙂
    Good luck with today.


  3. Nicola is so gorgeous. I know I say that every time but she is and her numerous antics never cease to amaze me. Poor teacher!!!!!

    Yep, you might have to get those pants to disappear. She will miss them for a few days and get over it eventually or you might need to get another 2 or 3 to ensure she stays clean while still in her favourite PJ.

    Unlike you I wish the weather would not get any warmer than it is right now. This is my perfect temperature 🙂


  4. I’m also checking the weather obsessively, some might say….

    I love the first pic!

    And please – the clothes are killing me in my house. I swear Connor thinks we’re killing him when we try to dress him. I’m so over it. Really, how can you fight like this about CLOTHES? And the star chart has not worked at all this week for the clothes. He just doesn’t care.


  5. I have resorted to short sleeved T shirts under long sleeved ones for the weather and I have a shoe war every day.


  6. Yay for good news!


  7. Laura, thank you!😀 I can see that our clothes shopping is headed that way too. Seriously I hope it’s just a phase.

    blackhuff, I see 25’C and 26’C days on the near horison and I’m tickled pink about it!

    MrsFF, thank you – I NEVER get tired of hearing it.😉 My ideal temp is between 23 and 26’C. At a push no more than 30’C then I whine about the heat and mosquitoes again!

    Marcia, hahaha! He’s obviously had enough of winter too! You should see a typical pants fight, I doubt your polite children make you go to that level…but I could be wrong.😉

    cat, I’m quite relieved to see it’s not just me having this issue with my pink terrorist. Just a few more days and then I’m sure there will be peace again.

    MeeA, even better news for today – I FINALLY have my car back! Whoop for no more begging lifts of colleagues.😀


  8. Awww…LOVE pic 1 and the one where she kisses her dolly on the head. Too cute!
    And yip. As a girl, it’s her prerogative to have days like that.


  9. Julia, she’s having a few more of those days than one to be honest. The terrible two’s comes with spectacular sulking skills…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

