h1

How I celebrated my birthday

10 August , 2012

Well, firstly I hope you all saw that lovely video of Nicola singing? That was taken a week or two ago, but I’m glad I saved it to watch on the actual day because she woke up in quite a foul mood and let me have it. We had a giant pants-fight (for those not familiar with the inner workings of terrible two’s this entails NOT wanting to wear pants, and feeling violently and passionately the need to defend that desire). It was a freeeezing day, not that I would have let her go to school in just a Tinkerbell pantie even on a warm day, but after the 5th or 6th time of putting the same bloody pair of trousers on her in a row (I tried 5 different pairs of pants, so you do the maths) there was finally a breaking point of sorts and a ultimatum along the lines of “If I see that bum again instead of the pants I put over it I am going to give it a hiding.”

You have to admire the determination. The force is strong in this one. She did not let that put her off her mission one little bit. Neither did I…she is truly my daughter. By the time I managed to get her to school we were both in tears and she had told me repeatedly that I was NOT her friend. At least she didn’t get frost bite on her bottom. I can live with it, and I’m sure she’ll grow to like me again at some point.πŸ˜‰ At the time however, I was in quite a state. Not the start I was hoping for on my birthday. So much so that the principal actually came to give me a big hug and tell me everything was going to be okay. She even messaged me later to tell me that calm has been restored and that Nicola sat on the teacher’s lap for some time until she felt better and started playing and laughing again. I told her that perhaps I needed to find a lap to sit on too that would make me feel better. She recommended that I find a male lap, and talk about the first thing that comes up! Hahahaha! Perhaps not exactly appropriate coming from your child’s principal but it sure made me laugh. I do like that women’s no nonsense style!πŸ˜†

image

Off to work and I saw that Google now gives you a personalised happy birthday doodle if you happen to be signed in to your account on your special day. Very cool! This is the first time I’ve seen them do this, but on previous occasions I have to admit I wasn’t online as much as with this one.

The calls, messages, tweets and facebook messages came through all day long. I am very blessed to have had so many people wish me a special day. Thank you to everyone who remembered and made the effort.πŸ˜€

image

I did a little koek-en-tee for my team at work (and a select few others). These days it’s kind of customary to bring cake for the entire 100 person strong 4th floor. Maybe after I win the Lotto. In the meantime, I’m keeping it a little bit more exclusive. I got to stand on a chair while they sang for me. I don’t mind that kind of thing at all – but I suspect the fascilities manager wouldn’t be all that impressed (at least I didn’t wear heels).πŸ˜‰

After work we had dinner at my folks and my mom made something specially for me that I wanted. Is there any cooking better than mom’s cooking? I don’t think so. My brother and K also came through and I was again spoilt with loads of awesome gifts.

image

On our government given public holiday we all went for a spin on the Gautrain. Here we all are, bright eyed and bushy tailed waiting to board. None of us had been on it before so we were ready for a grand adventure.

May I just say, what a smooth operation. It’s all put together very nicely. If the train actually passed anywhere near my house I wouldn’t mind taking it from time to time where I needed to go at all.

Here are some of my favourite photos of the trip to Hatfield. My dad took his GPS along to see how fast the train was really going. It didn’t go over 160km/h much but if you’ve ever been stuck in Jhb peak hour gridlock traffic I’m sure you will agree that that is really pretty bloody fast. I think it can do over 200km/h, but they probably only use that to make up some time if they have technical difficulties and are running late or something?

Nicola was fascinated my the whole train thing. All week I’ve been prepping her, telling her that we are going on the Gautrain. She kept telling me, “Dis die GROOT train!”πŸ˜† I don’t think Gau- is a real word in her world. The other thing she did was sing the train song that I usually sing to her when she’s having a bath. All the way there she was entertaining everyone with “Chooka-chooka-puff, chooka-chooka-puff-puff, kyk hoe ry ons in die baba-trein, opdraand op, afraand af, chooka-chooka-puffa op ‘n stywe draf!” It was so cute!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Once in Hatfield we first had a bit of excitement when my gran misplaced her train card and almost couldn’t leave the station, but she eventually tracked it down to her left pocket on her jacket and off we went in search of a kiddy friendly place to have a bite to eat.

My brother spotted a Spur and that’s what we decided on. We were all starving by this time and Nicola was in 7th heaven having the entire play area all to herself!

image

image

image

image

image

Magies vol, ogies toe. We were all more or less ready for an afternoon nap once we had our lunch, so the walk back to the station felt considerably longer than the walk from the station. Trains are very condusive to naps, even when they don’t actually rattle much. Nicola was out cold in minutes, I was very tempted to join her – but who would document the goings on for you if I did that?πŸ˜‰ My gran also managed to catch a wink or two until I rudely woke her up with my flash.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Back home, we had some delicious scones with jam and cream and settled in for a Dora the explorer marathon (my mom and my gran each bought Nicola a DVD) before switching over to the olimpics when everyone had had their fill (except Nicola who is now somewhat obsessed with Dora). The only olympic event I really wanted to see was the syncronised swimming. It’s beautiful and so on, and I am amazed every time that those women don’t actually drown performing those tricks. I thought that I had missed it this year, but true as bob, it came on as if it knew that was the only time I was going to be near a TV and I got to see all of it. Fantastic!πŸ˜€

We slept over at my parents’ house last night so that Nicola could have a pajama party with my mom today. I had to work (no leave left) and the pink terrorist’s school is closed for the day. My mom kindly agreed to take a day off instead since I couldn’t. From what I hear it’s going really well and everyone is having a good time so far.

All things considered, my birthday was pretty much perfect. Thank you to everyone who made it so. xxx

image

This is a photo of Tigger getting in a quality cuddle with my gran last night. She’s not a fan of winter either, poor baby.

image

And this is one of my snow pics that didn’t post for some reason, and I really wanted to show you (this is my favourite one, even though my eyes are closed because of the wind – I actually forgot my jacket at home that day, but there was no way I was letting that stop me from going out – I now have a nice sore throat for my troubles – still worth it). My first time playing in the snow and possibly the last time we’ll see it up here again for years.

For those of you poor sobs who also have to work today, have fun and hang in there. The rest of you who made a long weekend of it, you suck! I’m very jealous. But enjoy it anyway.πŸ˜‰

6 comments

  1. Happy birthday Louisa. Hope you had a wonderful birthday ? I think you didπŸ™‚

    May the coming year be one of bliss, joy, pleasant surprises and blessings.

    I’m glad you all enjoyed the train ride and that you took it to Hatfield, that’s the farthest to the North so must have been a nice long (relatively) ride. Now let just hope the little madam doesn’t want a follow up ride very soonπŸ˜‰

    Synch swimming is beautiful and quite scary. And would you know today is the last day of competition for that event (I think). You caught a glimpse right on timeπŸ™‚


  2. Looks like you had a greta day apart from the Pink terrorist drama. And love your train day. That train has changed our family’s life.


  3. I’m so happy you had a great birthday and a great time with family on Thursday. I also love the syncronized swimming and am always in awe on how long they can stay under water without taking a breath while doing movements with their legs above the water.


  4. Happy Birthday, glad you had a good day


  5. I LOVE how you spent your birthday. I also had to stand on a chair a few weeks ago at work for my Happy Birthday song. Couldn’t be bothered to take cake for those cows though.To be honest, I kind of ignored the synchronised swimming. Not sure why.


  6. I am so glad you enjoyed your birthday! And I worked too!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

