h1

Snow day!

7 August , 2012

20120527_11510020120527_12414020120529_06574220120529_16483020120530_06095120120601_071723

It’s snowing in Jhb! (okay, at first it was just sleeting but then there was proper snowing after that). Keeping in mind that you guys wanted more up to date photos with your posts I took PLENTY, but now my battery is too flat to upload unfortunately. I will only be able to post them tonight (provided that we have electricity and that we aren’t dumped into a country wide black-out with all the heater action going on).

It has been wildly exciting to see the snow here in town. People were having snow ball fights on the smoking balconies, everyone and his dog was outside playing like children and taking thousands of photos, and someone even built a snow man on our walkway (Steamcleaner says it looks more like a Tokoloshi than a snowman, but it’s a very decent effort). We have quite a few secret contractors from India and they were going nuts, all seeing snow for the very first time. One lady even took her shoes off and went galloping across the lawn in joy!

Just this morning I asked Nicola if she thought it looked like rain. She said it looked like it was going to snow, and that we could build a snow man and put a scarf on it. I said yes, and a carrot for a nose. “Nee Mamma, nie ‘n wortel nie! Dis net vir hasies. Hy kan nie dit eet nie.” Silly me…😉

5 comments

  1. Sometimes kids just know, don’t they🙂
    I too took lots of photos with my camera at work and uploaded it to Facebook🙂 Such a great experience.


  2. It’s been amazing to see…we always just get the cold and none of the pretty that comes along with it. I imagine driving home in the slush is going to be quite an adventure too, and I’m hoping Nicola doesn’t actually insist on building a snowman because that’s much easier with powder than with slush puppy.😉


  3. Do you know what? TODAY I left my big camera at home because I was in a whole day session and yet it’s the one day I needed it – I was kind-of dying inside.

    Thanks for up to date photos!

    Are you excited yet? I can’t WAIT to see your list – OH, I haven’t posted mine yet. I am still short of a couple of items so I’m going frivolous!


    • Oh no! I hope you got a few good ones with your phone at least? When you say list, you mean the last update right?😉


  4. Still jealous…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

