h1

List update – End of June

1 July , 2012

June…It’s the final count down (Ta-da-da-ta…tarra-da-ta-taaaah!)201108072686What I have done in August:

1. Start writing poetry again

2. Buy a tumble drier

3. Take Nicola to go visit my grandmother in Thabazimbi

What I have done in September:

4. Grow a veggie garden

What I have done in October:

5. Sort out my bookshelf situation

6. Chuck everything unflattering out of my wardrobe

7. Stop smoking (again)

7. Buy a couch

What I have done in November:

8. Grow a herb garden – 13/11 (Thanks Tamara!)

What I have done in December:

9. Organise a really awesome birthday party for Nicola

10. Make some new MP3 disks for the car

11. Open a savings account for Nicola

What I have done in January

12. Begin…and finish reading at least 12 books – #1 The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine, MD #2 Who Moved My Cheese by Dr Spencer Johnson #3 Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, Part 6 of 3, And Another Thing…by Eoin Colfer #4 The complete practical encyclopedia of Bonsai by Ken Norman #5 House Rules by Jodi Picoult #6 Easyway to stop smoking by Allen Carr #7 The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn #8 The witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho #9 Greywalker by Kat Richardson #10 I want my Life back by Steve Hamilton #11 Spud Learning to Fly by John van de Ruit #12 Worth Dying For by Lee Child

13. Get Nicola’s vaccinations up to date

14. Start teaching Nicola how to swim – we officially started swimming lessons at a school

What I have done in February

15. Have a beach holiday and relax – Done end Feb (as we speak!)

16. Wear a dress now and then (at least on Spring day and Valentines day) – 1/9 Spring day skirt wearing *check* – 25/10 Wore a skirt again (no pics this time sorry) – 11/12 Wore a long-ish skirt to lunch 14/2 – Valentine’s Day – rocked a skirt

17. Update my will

What I have done in March:

Not a bloody thing I can tick off – ongoing things still ongoing at least.

What I have done in April:

18. Go and see at least 2 movies in a cinema – 6/1 – Puss in Boots 5/4 – American Pie Reunion

What I have done in May:

19. Print some photos for our albums – do 20 a month (I did 30 this month)

What I have done in June:

 20. Get Nicola potty trained – I can’t really take the credit for this though, she did it all herself!

What I still intend to do this year (in no particular order):

  1. Move to a 2 bedroom place – unless I win the Lotto this is probably only going to happen next year
  2. Maintain an actual hairstyle (possibly the one you see me sporting in this photo) – It’s a lot longer now which works just fine for winter
  3. Print some photos for our albums – do 20 a month
  4. Lose another 5kg (hopefully around my non-existent middle) – No comment face 
  5. Find a job/career I love – Plan is in process. Macgafter (CSP Boiler) is being tested. Presentations are being compiled. World domination is imminent! Also there is this other potential ops thing looming at the secret place, and looming quite significantly if I may say so. 
  6. Have at least 4 weekends away – 3/11 – 6/8 (not sure if we’ll be able to fit the other two in before August…probably not)
  7. Keep my car clean (inside and outside) – Ha! My car is almost spotless after it went in for the clutch repair and I’ve been very diligent in keeping it that way
  8. Have a birthday party for myself – may or may not can this one
  9. Take or have taken more photos of Nicola and myself together – This is going very well so far…I can probably tick this off already? If I don’t have a single other photo taken of us together from now until August I will still have at least double what I had the previous year! Thank you everyone around us for helping out on this one.
  10. Make homemade gifts for my very special people – Ongoing
  11. Go to church more often (this will not be hard to do since we didn’t go when we were sick, and we were mostly sick) – again, looking better than last year but not quite where I imagined it would be when I put it on the list to begin with.
  12. Random acts of kindness whenever I can – All good and ongoing
  13. At least one grand adventure! – I’m a bit puzzled about this one. No idea where I was going with it. We’ve had a lot of adventure already this year, but none that I would class as “grand” . Let’s see what happens? I am thinking maybe we should go for an outing on the Gautrain…is that grand enough? Has anyone done this? Where would be a good place to go with the train…just getting on with no clear going to seems a bit pointless to me?
  14. Put a serious dent in my debt – I put my entire bonus into that during April and after my annual raise I’ve upped my monthly payments as well…just a bit. I am actually quite satisfied with the dent I see already but I’ll reveal the percentage to you at the end of July.
  15. Stop smoking (again) – The June quitting lasted about two weeks. I’ll have to give it another go on the 1st of July. *sigh*

More done than not done so far – I can’t wait for the final tally at the end of July.😀

10 comments

  1. I think what makes a grand adventure is a grand challenge. Somehow, my greatest adventures have always been my greatest challenges.


  2. Hmmm, what about meeting a Pta friend where the Gautrain ends and going to lunch. That’s definitely an adventure – it was for me!

    Otherwise, think up something special you’d not normally do, and make it happen. Can I help in any way? I so love to see goals accomplished!

    Also, I have an idea with that birthday party. I will email you.


  3. ps I just read on an american blog June was potty training month🙂


  4. Good luck with the kicking smoking habit, I have to do the same with red vino (health reasons), not so easy😦


  5. I typed a comment earlier which has kind of varnished – case of problem between chair and pc (or in my case phone). 😉. 😉

    Recap-

    I take the Gautrain to work almost everyday and I must confess I’m spoilt, it’s fast, clean and on time 99% of the time. So I vote for taking the Gautrain as an adventure. I’ll advise you take it to Hatfield. From Rosebank or Sandton that’s between a 35 to 40 minute ride with some interesting views along the way – beats going to the airport which is only 15 mins from Sandton and more than double the price. From Sandton to OR Tambo is R115 one way. From Sandton to Hatfield is R46 one way (additional R12 if you use the parking). Added bonus the Hatfield stop is very close to Hatfield centre so you can meet up with a friend, have a meal or catch a movie before heading back and Nicola rides for free (since she’s under 3)

    I have been trying to convince my friend to do this instead of going to the airport, hence the reason I have the info😉 plus I like value for money

    PS: first time you pay for the gold card – used to be R10 I think it’s now R11.


  6. PS: how’s goal 15 going, it’s 1st of July.😉


  7. Take Gautrain to Pta and go have lunch with Rina! That would be a really cool adventure!
    I think that you have done sooooo well on this.
    Am going to blog about this but we have made significant progress wrt the potty! Nervous to get too excited. You know how Murphy likes to hang around.


  8. JD, mmm…then at this point a grand adventure for me would be to keep my car clean, stop smoking and drop 5kg!😆 I think the bullet train ride will do nicely. In the past grand adventures for me usually entailed some sort of near death experience but I have to adjust my take on that since Nicola is now part of my adventures.🙂

    Marcia, I’m taking the whole family along on the train – so maybe I’ll just look into something we can all do together. Thanks for the mail, I’m mulling it over a bit.😉 (Hahaha, Nicola has perfect timing then!)

    Fairy Girl, thanks and good luck to you too!

    adesolaf, thanks a mil for all the info!😀 (not so good, but we’ll get there eventually).

    Julia, I would love to go see Rina – it might be a bit much though if I have my whole family along though. Maybe on one of the next trips?😉 I read (will be along shortly to comment) congrats and good luck. I must say that with Nicola it’s actually a lot easier than I thought it would be. Once she decided it was really kind of done. I’m now mostly just watching her body language and the moment I see any sign that she might need to go I just ask her as a reminder, especially if she’s really busy playing and obviously putting it off. We win some and we lose some…but much less miss than I thought there would be.


  9. I think you’ve done really well considering how long your list was!


  10. Thank you!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

