h1

Some cute!

19 June , 2012

20120319_19113120120319_19300520120319_19301020120320_055032

I thought today would be a good time to catch up on some of the cute things Nicola’s been saying and doing after all of yesterday’s doom and gloom.

Firstly, my pink terrorist has developed an unhealthy fascination with the handbrake in my car! The other day she made a move to touch it and I said “Nee!” she said, “Maar Mamma, daar’s ‘n knoppie!” so I said, “Ja…maar daai knoppie is net vir mammas. Jy mag dit nie druk nie, okay?” she thought about it for a minute and then said, “Druk hom Mamma! Druk hom!” Since we were driving I thought okay, so at the next traffic light I pressed the button and pulled up the handbrake. Only to be rewarded with, “Baie mooi Mamma…” and a very encouraging nod of approval. Then she told me that I should only use the button to shoot dinosaurs.πŸ˜† I assume she’s seen some movie, possibly with a fighter plane or something where pressing the button shoots something?

Last week when I was properly sick and in bed, my mom collected Nicola from school for me and they were chatting up a storm. According to Nicola all the trees with no leaves are angry trees (Kwaai bome!). We’re pretty sure this comes from Shrek, but there you have it. The trees are angry, that’s why they don’t have any leaves.πŸ˜‰

There’s a bully in Nicola’s class…a boy named M. I’ve met him and his sister whose a year younger and they’re actually both pretty unmannered brats in general. Every day Nicola comes home with some tale of woe of how this kid has hurt her today. I’ve spoken with her teacher about it and she says that he actually isn’t guilty of all that but that he tends to run around in the class a lot and often accidentally bumps into the other children or knock them over. He spends a lot of time in the naughty corner. Well…M gets blamed for a lot of things in our house these days. If I bump myself and end up with a bruise somewhere Nicola is convinved that it was M that did it – and no one can convince her of anything else. If I get a pimple, he’s usually blamed for my Bad Eina in that regard too!πŸ˜†

Last night we had fish and veg for dinner. Nicola started off happily muching on her own but at some point decided that she would actually prefer it if I fed her…but…she would only let me feed her if she could feed me. So there we were, sitting at our table opposite each other. for every spoonful of food I gave her she would give me one in return. And I got a “baie mooi mamma” for each bite I ate too!πŸ˜†

She really is just getting cuter and cuter by the day…

Ps! My car looks like it’s going to be fixed for a bit less than I initially anticipated (I did ask them for a worst case scinario to be fair). A whole R2000 less than that. Fantastic!πŸ˜€

12 comments

  1. You used to write interesting stuff, now you only write about your kid.


  2. Seriously cute!!! Poor M (or not) πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰


  3. Munro, yeah…she’s very interesting to me.πŸ˜‰ It’s probably not going to change any time soon so if it’s not your cup of tea it might be time to move along.


  4. adesolaf, hehehe…I’m sure he’s not completely innocent (except maybe of causing my bruises or pimples!)


  5. I’m so happy that the repair of your car, is less than what you expected. Yay!
    I love the things your little one is letting out especially the “Baie mooi mamma” bitsπŸ™‚


  6. LOVE that your car is going to cost R2000 less! Such relief.

    And niceeeeee answer to Munro!

    Also, I’m so proud of you for doing the handbrake so nicelyπŸ™‚


  7. blackhuff, she’s hilarious! I wish I could catch all of this on video and show you but she clams up whenever I start recording. I am super relieved about the car.

    Marcia, thank youπŸ˜‰ I must be honest, when the handbrake thing came up I seriously considered finding a way to put her in the back of the car (more traditional place for kids I suppose?). But my car doesn’t have the right safety belts in the back for that. This way all handbrakes should be safe instead, which is really better. It’s more or less how I feel about safety guards for plugs too – if you teach them not to stick their fingers in there then you don’t have to worry about other people’s houses not being toddler proofed.


  8. She’s too cute! And you are such a good girl to eat all your dinner Mommy!
    Am thrilled that your car is costing you less. We also have a bully. He does EVERYTHING wrong. Even makes a poo in his pants!
    His name is Jaden. Apparently Jaden says “Fuck it” and everything! Eish. Must say, I am a bit nervous about Jaden.


  9. Julia, I am (sometimes) a very good girlπŸ˜‰ I figured out why my car ended up costing less…they only did the clutch and not the service as well like I asked for. So that money is not saved, the spending of it has just been delayed a bit. Half a win? I saw your post on Jayden…I’d be worried too.


  10. Oh she is just adorable, ai and bullies – every schoool has one. I actually have a whole blogpost in my head about bullies.

    And I have posted about the character skirts you were asking about a while ago


  11. Uber cool to pay less for your car than you thought you would!
    Nicola is just SO cute! And every time I read what she’s doing or saying I wish I had made more notes about my knucklehead’s little things when he was growing up…


  12. Cat, I’ll come have a look straight away.πŸ™‚

    Angel, I hope that she’ll enjoy reading these little gems when she grows up too. They really do grow up so quickly!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

