h1

List update – End of May

1 June , 2012

May…not much time left for me to tick things off since I started this list at the beginning of Augustus last year. One or two I already know I’m going to miss, and some are year long ones so they’re still okay and in general I am feeling quite pleased with how this list is shaping up.201108072686What I have done in August:

1. Start writing poetry again

2. Buy a tumble drier

3. Take Nicola to go visit my grandmother in Thabazimbi

What I have done in September:

4. Grow a veggie garden

What I have done in October:

5. Sort out my bookshelf situation

6. Chuck everything unflattering out of my wardrobe

7. Stop smoking (again)

7. Buy a couch

What I have done in November:

8. Grow a herb garden – 13/11 (Thanks Tamara!)

What I have done in December:

9. Organise a really awesome birthday party for Nicola

10. Make some new MP3 disks for the car

11. Open a savings account for Nicola

What I have done in January

12. Begin…and finish reading at least 12 books – #1 The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine, MD #2 Who Moved My Cheese by Dr Spencer Johnson #3 Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, Part 6 of 3, And Another Thing…by Eoin Colfer #4 The complete practical encyclopedia of Bonsai by Ken Norman #5 House Rules by Jodi Picoult #6 Easyway to stop smoking by Allen Carr #7 The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn #8 The witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho #9 Greywalker by Kat Richardson #10 I want my Life back by Steve Hamilton #11 Spud Learning to Fly by John van de Ruit #12 Worth Dying For by Lee Child

13. Get Nicola’s vaccinations up to date

14. Start teaching Nicola how to swim – we officially started swimming lessons at a school

What I have done in February

15. Have a beach holiday and relax – Done end Feb (as we speak!)

16. Wear a dress now and then (at least on Spring day and Valentines day) – 1/9 Spring day skirt wearing *check* – 25/10 Wore a skirt again (no pics this time sorry) – 11/12 Wore a long-ish skirt to lunch 14/2 – Valentine’s Day – rocked a skirt

17. Update my will

What I have done in March:

Not a bloody thing I can tick off – ongoing things still ongoing at least.

What I have done in April:

18. Go and see at least 2 movies in a cinema – 6/1 – Puss in Boots 5/4 – American Pie Reunion

What I have done in May:

19. Print some photos for our albums – do 20 a month (I did 30 this month)

What I still intend to do this year (in no particular order):

  1. Move to a 2 bedroom place – unless I win the Lotto this is probably only going to happen next year
  2. Maintain an actual hairstyle (possibly the one you see me sporting in this photo) – It’s a lot longer now which works just fine for winter
  3. Print some photos for our albums – do 20 a month
  4. Lose another 5kg (hopefully around my non-existent middle) – No comment face 
  5. Find a job/career I love – Plan is in process. Macgafter (CSP Boiler) is being tested. Presentations are being compiled. World domination is imminent! Also there is this other potential ops thing looming at the secret place, and looming quite significantly if I may say so. 
  6. Have at least 4 weekends away – 3/11 Nylstroom weekend (next one planned for June)
  7. Keep my car clean (inside and outside) – Dismal fail
  8. Get Nicola potty trained – Ongoing, Nicola is quite happy to use the loo at our place and my folks, but for the moment refuses to contemplate it at school
  9. Have a birthday party for myself – may or may not can this one
  10. Take or have taken more photos of Nicola and myself together – This is going very well so far…I can probably tick this off already? If I don’t have a single other photo taken of us together from now until August I will still have at least double what I had the previous year! Thank you everyone around us for helping out on this one.
  11. Make homemade gifts for my very special people – Ongoing
  12. Go to church more often (this will not be hard to do since we didn’t go when we were sick, and we were mostly sick) – again, looking better than last year but not quite where I imagined it would be when I put it on the list to begin with.
  13. Random acts of kindness whenever I can – All good and ongoing
  14. At least one grand adventure! – I’m a bit puzzled about this one. No idea where I was going with it. We’ve had a lot of adventure already this year, but none that I would class as “grand” . Let’s see what happens?
  15. Put a serious dent in my debt – I put my entire bonus into that during April and after my annual raise I’ve upped my monthly payments as well…just a bit. I am actually quite satisfied with the dent I see already but I’ll reveal the percentage to you at the end of July.
  16. Stop smoking (again) – ETA 1st of June, don’t say I didn’t warn you, except extreme crankiness for at least a week.

I am enjoying the list but I am feeling quite ready to have it over now too. You should start psychologically preparing yourself that I will not be giving myself such a to-do list for next year (and if I do, definitely not 35 items!).😉

8 comments

  1. Oh my gosh, I laughed loud and very raucously at my desk at your disclaimer – I know it’s for me!!!!!

    I love number 19 (you are awesome!), and thank you for my random act of kindness.

    What about the grand adventure being meeting me? HAHAHA!

    I had my little goals retreat last night (hmmm, I should blog this on the organising blog) and I’m likely to (at the very best) only hit 27 out of my 37. Worse than last year but I also put very difficult things on my list!

    BYE off to a meeting


  2. Marcia,😆 yes…the disclaimer is for you.😉 And you’re very welcome. I’m not saying meeting you hasn’t been a grand adventure, but usually when i say something along those lines it entails throwing myself out of a plane or absailing down a building, or zipping through a forest 30m up in the air with only a holey glove as a brake. Have fun at your meeting!


  3. I LOVE that photo of the two of you🙂 It made me smile. So cool.
    Again, I said this before, when I met you that day with the other two ladies, I did not know you smoked. I’m impressed that you can hide something like this, so well. Usually smokers get edgy but you weren’t. Well done!
    Maintain an actual hairstyle – now that should be on my list too. Have started to gel my hair this week but to keep this up, I really can’t say🙂
    Have a good weekend.


  4. LOL good recover!!! Still, why don’t we go do that ziplining thing Cat always talks about in the Magaliesberg? I also want to do a grand ziplining thing. We can do a whole DAY of it (I doubt before the birthdays but certainly on next year’s list) with lots of people and have a BALL./

    Hmmm, think on these things – I’m totally game! Marleen can put that as her adventure for the month too.


  5. blackhuff, hehehe – thank you! It’s not so much that I hide it as that most kiddie friendly restaurants don’t happen to be smoker friendly at the same time. I kind of walk in expecting that i probably won’t have a chance to have one and then I don’t get antsy because I’m prepared for it. Good luck with the hair…I actually need to go have a trim again soonish, although I’m thinking I can go a bit longer and still have it in some sort of style perhaps?

    Marcia, sounds good to me. I loved that zipping thing. Fear of heights isn’t one of my issues. Although on bits of mine (through Knysna) I let the instructed clip in with me and take the reigns. Those guys know that route so well and they know exactly where to brake and how fast they can actually go. It was sooooo good! I wouldn’t mind doing that again at all.


  6. Going great guns! I am so impressed!


  7. I think that you have done REALLY well on your list. Seriously. I checked mine today and I’m realistically going to be able to tick off about 20 things. I’m OK with it though – I’m not letting it stress me out too much.
    I’m going to do another list soon. But I’m thinking that it’s going to be about places that I want to try. For example, I’ll put on things like three new restaurants I want to eat at (kid-free of course) or maybe something like how many times a year I want to go and sit in the movies (kid-free of course) – am still deciding on the format that it will take. Maybe I’ll put something like rock-climbing on there. Who knows?
    I always laugh at that pic. You really should frame it.


  8. Angel, thank you!🙂

    Julia, I love that photo too…maybe I will.😉 And thanks, i really was hoping to tick every single thing off but perhaps that was a bit unrealistic of me.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

