h1

Memory Lane

22 May , 2012

Brace yourselves! This is my second post today!

So…I told you a while ago that I got an invite to my 15 year school reunion right? Well, my old roomy from boarding school has been hounding me to go find my old scrap books from way back when where I stuck a bunch of photos. She wanted me to scan them in and send it to her, which I did. (I had a scrap book before it became cool or you did it with pretty papers, mine was just random things I liked torn out of magazines, funny things I heard scribbled on bits of paper and as many photos as I managed to get my hands on in between – all magically held together with prit and bits of sticky tape. At some point I actually took it all apart and put it in a lever arch file, certain pages even got laminated for some reason).

Wow! What a blast from the past mwahaha!πŸ˜† I thought I’d stick a few on here too in case you wanted to see? (“the one” she specifically wanted to see I’m not putting up here because I’m keeping it for when she’s rich and famous – it’s as good as a pension! Although a few of these are also a little bit suspect…but oh well). *shrug* This all happened well before digital photos so it’s actually a miracle that I have as many as I do. I bet today’s kids will have a very well documented youth by the time they hit their reunions.

One of my colleagues made my day by saying I still look exactly the same.πŸ˜€ I don’t, but what a nice thing to say. Yip, she’s definitely making it onto my Christmas list this year.πŸ˜‰

1Β Β 2Β  3Β  4Β  5Β  6Β  7Β  8Β  9Β  10Β  11Β  12

13 comments

  1. These are absolutely precious


  2. I had so much fun going through all of them again.πŸ™‚


  3. Isn’t is so much fun to look back on photos out of the daysπŸ™‚


  4. blackhuff, it’s a hoot! Plus my buddy put them all up on fb so there was a crazy amount of comments on some of them last night and also connecting with some people I haven’t seen in yonks (I went to school before fb obviously).πŸ˜‰


  5. You do stil look the same!!


  6. πŸ˜† Madi, you let me know where you want your christmas card delivered. Thank you!


  7. Really a trip down memory lane. You really must have made a lot of effort with the pictures… Guess youngsters won’t understand the process of picture taking back in the days, take the pictures and hope they turn out good, then go and get it developed and also hope there are no mishaps, and to still have them many years later – kudos to you.
    I could tell which era the pictures were from once I saw the baggy denim shirtπŸ™‚πŸ˜‰


  8. I want to see that scrapbook one day!!!πŸ™‚

    You still look exactly the same, it’s true!


  9. adesolaf,πŸ˜† you don’t see those shirts anymore yip. I’m pretty sure for a lot of these I didn’t even own a camera yet so I still had to bully them out of people. Somewhere in the bottom of a cupboard I still have about 10 or so rolls of film that hasn’t been developed from when i did have my own camera. (I think two of them might even still be of shots I took on honeymoon and I’ve been divorced for 10 years already!)

    Marcia, mwahaha! Maybe…there’s a lot of crap in it too. And jokes from before email when people used to fax them to each other.πŸ˜‰ And ripped out pages from magazines, and every single love letter ever written to me by anyone (although thankfully they don’t smell like the aftershave they were doused in before I got them anymore).πŸ˜‰


  10. Just as fierce now as you were back then. Thanks for sharing your trip down memory lane. What did N say when she saw the pictures of her mama when she was in school?


  11. πŸ˜† she said, “Mamma, jy het ‘n rokkie aan!”


  12. OMW you have not aged a day! Did I see some veld school photos in there too or are they boarding house pictures?


  13. Mwahaha, bless you Angel!πŸ˜‰ No, I refused to go to veld school – those were taken on Voortrekker camps that I went to instead. Buckets of fun!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

