h1

Jan Brand? O_o

15 May , 2012

I actually wasn’t going to post today but then I remembered how far behind I am with my photo posting – and so here goes:πŸ˜‰

20120214_051736

Yesterday while I was busy preparing dinner for us, Nicola kept asking me for something but for the life of me I couldn’t figure out what she was saying and she usually talks quite clearly. Eventually I just picked her up and asked her to show me with her finger what she wanted… it turned out to be a wooden spoon, which she calls Jan Brand (I eventually figured out what she was saying – we don’t have the use of the proper Afrikaans Rrrr yet so it sounded like she kept going on about young blood or something similar.

I was threatened that if I didn’t behave she would smack me, “Mamma, jy moet soet wees. Ek gaan jou piets!” Mmm…this is not the first time this particular topic has come up. On one of the previous occasions I spoke to the teacher and she showed me her spoon. It’s dressed up like a little man and she promises that she doesn’t actually piets anyone with it. It just gets put in a visible place when the class is misbehaving.

Oh well, it seems that I behaved myself since I never did get that smack.πŸ˜‰

I also gave Nicola a little milk jug filled with water, and some plastic shooter glasses to play with. She was making me “coffee and tea” until it almost came out of my ears! Too cute.πŸ˜† She even knows how I like it now, with two sugars and milk. After bath time we were reading a book and she saw a picture of a teacup and immediate piped up to me, “Mamma, dis jou koppie! Twee suiker en melk. Mmm-mmm-mmm…”πŸ˜†

The whole thing kind of reminds me of when I was a little girl. Apparently once I could reach the counter I insisted on making my parents coffee and tea in the mornings over weekends, but since I wasn’t allowed to use the kettle yet they got it made with tap water and I still made them drink it.πŸ˜‰

10 comments

  1. Twee suiker en melk! Ah man, she is too cute.


  2. Julia, you should have heard her last night! I cooked dinner, and as always I’m a bit nervous when i present it cause I never know from one day to the next if she will actually eat any of it. She happily munched on the hamburger patty, then pointed at the carmelised onions on her plate asking me what it was. I said it’s onions and she asked me if she’s allowed to eat it…of course. One bite carefully chewed and she squeels at me, “mommy, ek LOVE dit!”πŸ˜† Guess we’ll be having that again?


  3. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ROFTL πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚


  4. Ooh, I love caramelised onions too!


  5. So do I, but for the life of me I did not think that Nicola would touch it – never mind LOVE it!πŸ˜†


  6. Ag cute man! And I do love caramalized onions too. Now is the time for a plastic tea set


  7. So cute of her and now she knows how to make your tea/coffee – one day she will be making for you for realπŸ™‚


  8. Cat, she has one! But of course it’s much more fun playing with mom’s stuff than her own.πŸ˜‰

    Blackhuff, *sigh* my little girl is growing up so fast…πŸ™‚


  9. LOL! At least you didn’t use toilet water!


  10. Hahaha! No…but I did look at the loo as a handy “swimming pool” for all my toys at some stage. My mom was forever rescuing dolls from there (or so i hear).



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

