h1

Mid May Monday

14 May , 2012

20120211_17430020120212_11394620120212_11573820120212_12004420120212_12012720120212_15444920120212_184349

These photos were not taken this past weekend – still trying to catch up with my pic posting. Actually on that topic, I saw a bunch of you are doing monthly photo challenges…I was thinking of joining up, but as you can see that would probably set me back by another month in posting, or I’d only be posting this month’s photos in July!

These were taken when we went on a picnic lunch with S at the botanical gardens a while ago. S, if you’re reading this : we had loads of fun, and I think it’s time we rescheduled again?πŸ™‚

Right. On to my ramblings of weekend past.

On Saturday we went shopping for Mother’s Day gifts for my mom and gran (Nicola really wanted us to get something for my dad and Shrek’s dragon too but we resisted). After that we quickly dropped off the stuff at home before heading out to what was supposed to be a blog-meet at Tres Jolie. There were supposed to be another 7 or so other bloggers with their offspring, but in the end only one other blogger pitched up and we don’t really follow each other’s blogs so even though she was really nice it was a bit like going on a blind date that you didn’t sign up for. Nicola had a blast playing on the equipment and feeding the animals. The time also fell squarely within her usual nap time so when we went home she didn’t make it out of the parking lot before falling fast asleep.

Sunday morning I got up bright dark and early to bake my mom a raisin and cinnamon bread to go along with the gift. And as soon as it came out of the oven I hearded a very excited Nicola into the car and off we went to go spread the joy.πŸ˜‰ Nicola made me a mother’s day card at school and “bought” me a nice top with Ouma’s help.πŸ˜‰

My borther and K also came over and we all headed out to breakfast at the Spur (this really was the big eat day since we already had breakfast at home, then all wolfed down the entire raisin bread, Spur breakfast, followed by waffles with strawberries and cream later on at my folks’ house!). Nicola must have thought is was Christmas with two restaurant playground events in one weekend! She was having such a good time on all the jungle gyms and that aeroplane slide thingy. At some point she wandered off to the very small children play area, and even though theoretically she is still within the age limit I was intrigued about what she might find interesting there after the big ones.

She was having loads of fun on the toddler slides when a little girl started following her around. I cautioned Nicola to be careful when she comes down the slide not to knock down the baby girl who was standing right at the end of it. After a few minutes I saw Nicola try to push her out of the way and I spoke quite sternly to her to play nice with the little girl…you could almost see the gears turning in that little busy body head of hers. Next, to my surprise, I observed how she took the little girl by the hand, very friendly, chatting to her in a super nice way. She led her into one of the doll houses…and then she shut the door closing her in there and high tailed it back to the slide!πŸ˜† I know I should have been able to keep a straight face but it was just too funny. Hey, at least she was safe in there? Shortly after that the pink terrorist lost interest with the toddler area and moved on to the big toys again (and the little girl managed to get out as well, eventually, I checked).

12 comments

  1. Nicola is super cute…we also had Jadakins out and about this weekend at Delta park…and we had the opposite..Could not keep her off the bigger kids toys..pushing bigger kids out of the way to get to the slide.
    Sorry about the bloggers not pitching…at least Nicola had fun


  2. LOL about your girl putting the little girl in the dollhouseπŸ™‚


  3. Oh she is cute and such a bright and clever girl.


  4. She is gorgeous little angel :)….cutie


  5. you are so good-natured about these things. I would have felt so cross at the Tres Jolie thing.

    I promise you I will never stand you upπŸ™‚

    Also, serious question – please can you bake me some cinnamon and raisin bread and I’ll pay you when we meet?

    And on the photos…. what you really need to do is join Superhero Photo!πŸ™‚ Couldn’t resist!


  6. Sjoe. Sounds like you had a full day yesterday. I would also have been VERY annoyed at the Tres Jolie thing. At least Nicola had a great time?Best you post the recipe for the raisin and cinnamon bread. There are tons of photo challenges happening at the moment. Marcia does that superhero one and Laura does the one from fatmumslim. Go for it!


  7. Melinda, the one thing Nicola eyes all the time now which I think she might still be a little too small for is those tunnel ones where you climb up and then slide down into a ball pit or something. The one at our Spur is probably about two storeys high. My biggest fear is that she’ll attempt it…get halfway up and then scream for me to come and get her! Which I will do obviously, but with claustrophobia I don’t think it will be a pleasant experience for me either.

    blackhuff, it was hilarious!πŸ˜†

    Cat & galoppan, thank you.πŸ˜€

    Marcia, oh I was cross. But I decided not to hang onto it since I guess anyone can have a family emergency or whatever…the odds of 7 people having one at the same time is just a bit high. I won’t be attending this particular type of get together again. I’ll never stand you up either!πŸ˜‰ And don’t be silly, you can’t pay me – I’ll make you one of course. (i am tempted by that superhero photo business, but I can’t really right now)

    Julia, mmm…I will post the recipe. All the magic happens in the bread machine though so I have no idea at what temp you’d stick it in the oven if you wanted to do it that way?


  8. Nicola is so funny, I am resisting the urge to laugh out loud as I am in the office…. πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ And I must tell you very smart and caring as well. Look on the good side, at least she took the little girl out of harm’s way so she could get back to having fun without the hinderanceπŸ˜‰

    Yum, I love anything with Cinnamon and Raisin in it.

    I have written off blog meets, and I keep getting more and more reasons to write it off (not like I need any more reasons). Meet up with one or two people with similar interests are usually more fun and productive.


  9. Hehehe, that’s what I thought too!πŸ˜†
    I haven’t written off all blogger meets, just this particular sort. Actually i’m probably being a bit full of sh_t, since I’ve been to loads of them and this has been my only less than excellent experience, but I must be honest – I prefer meeting up with one or two other people at a time too instead of the large crowds, and I especially enjoy it when they are people that I’ve been reading for a while so I already know them. It’s cool also to have a new face now and then, and if you get on with them then it’s always a nice new addition to my feed reader.


  10. Louisa…those big tunnel ones are the ones my little Jadakins guns for as well. We spent ages on Sunday in them. Dad would put her in..Mom would catch her at the bottom.(again and again and again)..I was exhausted


  11. Locked her in the doll house!??! ROTFLOL!!!
    I no longer attend those particular get-togethers either. I got stood up badly last year when I was the ONLY one who pitched up! Just me- not even the organisers! That was the last straw for me I’m afraid.
    I am glad you had a lovely mothers day!


  12. Thanks AngelπŸ™‚



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

