h1

I just feel like posting a few photos today

4 May , 2012

It’s Friday (at last!). You wouldn’t say we’ve had a really short week if you saw how tired we were. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20120205_15191720120205_151928-120120205_16493620120206_171928

These photos are all from a few weeks back (of course). ๐Ÿ˜† I may have to start posting in batches of 10 to catch up to my trigger finger at some point.

Yesterday we went to go visit my brother for coffee. Riaan and Karen have a new cat, which I’m sure I’ve mentioned, her name is Marble and she’s a real cutie pie. Nicola refers to her as her Marble. On our previous visit Marble (chasing a cat nip mouse) scratched Nicola on her hand. It healed quick enough and wasn’t very serious to begin with, but to this day Nicola shows off the spot when anyone asks her abour Marble and she tells people that cats have sharp feet. ๐Ÿ˜†

On our recent grocery buying trip we bought Marble a toy as well and yesterday we went to go give it to her. Nicola had a blast playing with the cat and Marble didn’t seem overly traumatised either, so all good. Plus I got a chance to chat almost uninterrupted with my brother for a bit, which was great. ๐Ÿ™‚

On our way there we were pulled over in a road block – always “fun”. I don’t worry too much about road blocks really because my own and my car’s licences are up to date and I don’t drive fast enough to have outstanding speeding fines that I may not be aware of. It’s still a pain in the whatsit when you’re on your way somewhere though and you don’t want to be late.

Anyway, we stopped. The metro cop says to me, “Mam…can you have a driver’s licence at least?” (I wonder at his word choice of at least…). I say that I do have one. He asks if he can have it. I say no, he may not – but he can see it. He doesn’t think I’m all that funny. I don’t care. I tell him that it’s in the boot of the car and that I’m getting out to fetch it, I ask him not to shoot. Again he doesn’t get it, so I move swiftly along.

Of course I know that Nicola is going to FREAK out the moment that I leave the car, especially since there are about 20 strangers in uniform and all with guns around the car, but what choice do you have? The police officer tries to calm her down by smiling at her and pulling faces through the window. She is not charmed at all by this display and wails like it’s an olympic sport where she’s defending her title or something. The guy asks me what’s wrong with her and I tell him that she doesn’t like being away from me. I show them my licenece and ask if we’re done. They agree and I get back in the car.

I tell Nicola everything is okay and that the police have to look at everyone’s licence to make sure that everyone follows the rules of the road. Her parting screech at them as we leave is, “NEEEE! Ek wil nie die polisie he^ nie!” She’s very upset about the whole business so I decide to just talk her down a bit and maybe get some leverage with it. I tell Nicola that we have to have a licence to drive and we have to wear our safety belts too. I make sure to show her that I’m wearing one just like she is. If we don’t follow the rules of the road like wearing our safety belts the police will throw us in jail. She says that she would rather go home and doesn’t argue with me about the belt again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Other than that we had a fairly uneventful evening.

At work it’s been the normal scuffel to fit a full week’s work into a not full week’s time, but nothing too crazy. Last night it was announced on the secret place’s corporate comms that one of the execs (I have from time to time written about him as Box-Of-Frogs) has resigned (this is not a huge surpise – we have been hearing rumours about this possibly happening since late last year already). Some will miss him more than others – I’m not all that sad to see him go though. The only effect I’ve ever seen him have on my corner of the secret place was chaos and confusion. The next few weeks should be interesting because there is fierce competition on politicing going down to see who gets hisย seat once he leaves it. Theย watercooler hot-choc-machineย ย talk is that Snake-In-The-Grass might go for it, and possibly stands a good chance to get it. If this is the case he will in all likelyhood take TPP with him to a different floor in the building. ๐Ÿ˜€ย All good. Some are just concerned about who we might find as a replacement. If secret group sends us someone on loan for either of the positions it’s bound to get even more interesting.

We shall wait and see…and keep our ears open for further developments. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 comments

  1. Laughed at “Nee, ek wil nie die polisie hรช nie!” We all share the same sentiments!


  2. Oh I love it! I love her sass ๐Ÿ™‚ and your snarky remarks to the officials (who never get it). I keep my bag in the boot so also say, “okay fine, can you move out the way so I can get it?” and they look at me like i’m the one who’s nuts. We live in Jhb, people!

    Is that a self-portrait or did someone take that pic of you and N?

    I’m trying to get in more pics but Lord, D is lazy to take pics of me. He’ll take one or two (crappy) pics and that’s it. I’m persistent – I take 20 to get two great ones ๐Ÿ™‚ And this is the guy with a degree in TV and Film. Yes!


  3. Totally love your little Nicolas spunk…

    Also enjoy your names for the Execs at work…so appropriate.


  4. Love your work talk and that daughter of yours just bubbles over with beauty and personality


  5. Karen, ๐Ÿ˜† I agree! I don’t know where she gets these sentiments because we haven’t really had any exposure to them. Must be the guns?

    Marcia, I asked my mom to take one of us. The old phone was okay for self portraits but you kind of need two hands on the new one so I don’t bother trying – I have enough photos of my ear now.

    Melinda, hahaha – thanks. I really do call them that (not to their fases but my whole team knows who’s who and the names catch on quick when they suit the candidates) ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Cat, thanks! You should have seen her this past weekend. Katjie van die baan hoor.


  6. Nicola is so funny (would love to be a fly on the wall just to watch her for a whole day). Is she like that in school too?

    I swear Nicola gets her spunk from her mama dearest (if the names of your colleagues and the secret place info and descriptions are anything to go by)
    ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰


    • adesolaf, hahaha thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ She chatters non stop – there’d be loads of entertainment.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

