h1

List update – End of April

2 May , 2012

April…oh my gosh we’re getting close to the end of this. 201108072686What I have done in August:

1. Start writing poetry again

2. Buy a tumble drier

3. Take Nicola to go visit my grandmother in Thabazimbi

What I have done in September:

4. Grow a veggie garden

What I have done in October:

5. Sort out my bookshelf situation

6. Chuck everything unflattering out of my wardrobe

7. Stop smoking (again)

7. Buy a couch

What I have done in November:

8. Grow a herb garden – 13/11 (Thanks Tamara!)

What I have done in December:

9. Organise a really awesome birthday party for Nicola

10. Make some new MP3 disks for the car

11. Open a savings account for Nicola

What I have done in January

12. Begin…and finish reading at least 12 books – #1 The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine, MD #2 Who Moved My Cheese by Dr Spencer Johnson #3 Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, Part 6 of 3, And Another Thing…by Eoin Colfer #4 The complete practical encyclopedia of Bonsai by Ken Norman #5 House Rules by Jodi Picoult #6 Easyway to stop smoking by Allen Carr #7 The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn #8 The witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho #9 Greywalker by Kat Richardson #10 I want my Life back by Steve Hamilton #11 Spud Learning to Fly by John van de Ruit #12 Worth Dying For by Lee Child

13. Get Nicola’s vaccinations up to date

14. Start teaching Nicola how to swim – we officially started swimming lessons at a school

What I have done in February

15. Have a beach holiday and relax – Done end Feb (as we speak!)

16. Wear a dress now and then (at least on Spring day and Valentines day) – 1/9 Spring day skirt wearing *check* – 25/10 Wore a skirt again (no pics this time sorry) – 11/12 Wore a long-ish skirt to lunch 14/2 – Valentine’s Day – rocked a skirt

17. Update my will

What I have done in March:

Not a bloody thing I can tick off – ongoing things still ongoing at least.

What I have done in April:

18. Go and see at least 2 movies in a cinema – 6/1 – Puss in Boots 5/4 – American Pie Reunion

19.

What I still intend to do this year (in no particular order):

  1. Move to a 2 bedroom place
  2. Maintain an actual hairstyle (possibly the one you see me sporting in this photo) – I’m actually thinking of gowing a bit longer now
  3. Print some photos for our albums – unless there is a big increase in my immediate future this probably isn’t going to fly
  4. Lose another 5kg (hopefully around my non-existent middle) – I am back to 4 to lose on this one
  5. Find a job/career I love – Plan is in process. Macgafter (CSP Boiler) is being tested. Presentations are being compiled. World domination is imminent! Also there is this other potential ops thing looming at the secret place. 
  6. Have at least 4 weekends away – 3/11 Nylstroom weekend
  7. Keep my car clean (inside and outside) – Dismal fail
  8. Get Nicola potty trained – Ongoing, really good progress on this over the last month
  9. Have a birthday party for myself – may or may not can this one
  10. Take or have taken more photos of Nicola and myself together – This is going very well so far
  11. Make homemade gifts for my very special people – Ongoing
  12. Go to church more often (this will not be hard to do since we didn’t go when we were sick, and we were mostly sick)
  13. Random acts of kindness whenever I can – I did good on this one for April
  14. At least one grand adventure!
  15. Put a serious dent in my debt – I put my entire bonus into that during April and after my annual raise I’ve upped my monthly payments as well…just a bit
  16. Stop smoking (again)

I am starting to look at this list in the way of someone who already knows I’m not going to hit all my targets. Boo-hoo!😦

4 comments

  1. sooo it doesn’t say print R192 pics. Just print about 20 (R60 at CNA) and that’s one more crossed off, enough for a brag book.

    Will you do it?

    Otherwise, when (!) we have our early supper, bring me a disc with the 20 you choose and I’ll do it for you, okay? This is too important (to me :)) to let slide.

    Also, the bday party – come now, let me help you – I will give you all the decor and we will do frugal but stylish food!!!!!


  2. Marcia, hahah – as usual you are right! And very practical if I may add that. Now the biggest thing will just be to pick those 20 from the gazillions that i have. I will do it…in May.😉

    Thank you for offering to help. If I decide to go through with it I may just take you up on that offer!


  3. You are doing REALLY well. I definitely won’t be able to cross off everything from my list either.
    And Marcia is right, birthday parties don’t have to be expensive. I have one every year and I spend very little on it. I mainly invite family and then I go out with friends to a restaurant or somewhere and they pay for themselves! Easy Peasy.


  4. Julia, you’re both right…but I feel awful about leaving people out and before Nicola I used to just make it an open invite to the local Keg and let everyone pay for themselves. It’s nerve wracking for me to put everyone together because I don’t have a big common circle of friends but rather loads of little ones and one or two completely stand alone friendships. I end up with 100 near perfect strangers in a room. Luckily they seem to be able to mingle on their own fairly well, but then I feel bad for not being able to actually get a decent chat in with everyone who made the effort to show. What a nice problem to have I suppose?😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

