h1

Ta-tara-dah!

24 April , 2012

Obviously these pics were taken before it got cold. This is the place where Nicola went/goes to swimming classes. We’ve put them on hold until spring for now though.

20120204_10044320120204_100627

Right…bullet points for today I think.

  • Last night, since I was so tired I decided the quickest thing I had in the house to make was the cheat version of muscle mussel soup with some of our freshly baked bread. I wasn’t sure if Nicola would go for it, but she loved it! Win…definitely will be making that again when i don’t feel like serious kitchen time. (It’s very simple to make, don’t knock it before you’ve tried it. Take one packet of cream of mushroom soup and make it as per the instructions on the packet except replace half the water with milk instead. Add a pinch or so of crushed garlic. When the soup is hot, ready and thick whack in one or two tins of muscles mussels – just drain the oil out first! And that’s all there is to it. Serve with some fresh buttered bread.)
  • This morning I found myself with no office pants to wear. They are all between tumble drier and ironing stages of the process so I went with a skirt, some leggings, and boots. With this I decided to wear my poncho. Nicola pipes up from the bed, “Mamma! Jy het jou superman baadjie aan!” Mwahaha! From now on, that’s what I’ll call it.😉
  • My last little bullet of the day I will dedicate to radio ads that anoy the hell out of me. First up: The stupid SANRAL one. It is not an E-road buddy, it’s a highway. At the very least it’s a national road. That’s why it’s called N1. Calling it an E-road is a tad presumptious, and it doesn’t make me more likely to go get one of your pox ridden tags either. Grrr! The other two are guess the flavour adds, I think one is Lobello and the other one is Stimorol gum. If you don’t know what to call it after you slapped it together I don’t know why I would want to buy it firstly, or secondly help you come up with a name for your lab accident? This does not seem like a good campaign to me, but maybe I’m just odd that way. I don’t get the feeling that they already know what it is and are just trying to see if we can guess, it’s like they accidentally came up with something that probably doesn’t taste bad-ish but now can’t decide what it reminds them of that consumers may have heard of before.

 Oh…and my hair is looking great today after yesterday’s extra conditioning by the way. We got loads of sleep and I’m feeling muuuuch better.😉

6 comments

  1. Think I’ll give that Mussel Soup a try tonight – cheers!
    Also, glad you managed to catch up on some sleep. My younger two have been driving us nuts this last week or two. James discovered that he can climb out of his cot and so we’ve moved him to a big boy bed. And Jack thinks this is awesome, because now he has a buddy to accompany him on his multiple trips downstairs when he’s supposed to be sleeping. We are knackered!


  2. We also make that soup and it is great. But with L and a shellfish allergy it is best left for the parents only. Oh and I love the superman baadjie!


  3. MeeA, hehehe – mussel instead of muscle, thanks! I’ll go update that. *blush* I take my hat off to you and anyone who has more than one little person’s sleeping patterns to coordinate.

    Cat, that superman baadjie bit really made my day!😀 I was a bit worried about the potential allergy bit at first but the other day she took a nibble off my prawns and she was fine so we went for it. I bet you could jazz it up with some bacon too if you wanted to? (or just keep it as a grown up treat😉 )


  4. Mmmmm, that bread sounds good. I found a very easy recipe on pinterest (where else) the other day that I pinned – I want to try it because you just mix, pour and bake – no kneading! and it’s very forgiving.

    I love the superman baadjie – LOVE. I’m going to think of her every day when I wear my ponchos. I have 3 – red, black and a gorgeous bright blue.


  5. I like the “Superman baadjie” bit🙂
    So the conditioner was a plus🙂 – So cool🙂


  6. Marcia, I loved the superman baadjie comment too. It had me smiling all day!🙂 I can only bake bread in the machine at the moment because the cottage oven doesn’t get hot enough. One day when I have a proper oven again you’ll have to share it with me though.

    blackhuff,😆 I guess my hair is happy now about it, but at the time it wasn’t all that much fun.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

