h1

Tuesday 27/3

27 March , 2012

I think it’s time for Nicola to have another haircut? (I cut that fringe myself – you can probably tell)

20120126_164534

Some things that made my day interesting yesterday:

  • I got dressed and bathed twice before going to work. This is because Nicola didn’t want to wear the clothes I wanted her to wear for school. She really wanted the dirty shirt from the laundry that’s one of her favourites instead. I put my foot down. We wrestled. I won. She started crying and stuck her hand down her throat to make herself sick (over the clothes I had just wrestled her into). We both got to clean up and get dressed again…plus I got to wash the floor. I’m not sure who won that round since she ended up wearing something neither of us had in mind to begin with.😉
  • I’m on disc 3 of 8 of that book A million little pieces. It’s so emotional…wow. I bawled like a baby in the car listening to it.
  • When I got home I phoned Vodacom customer care about my network situation and got to speak to a very snippy young man. I warned him once that I wasn’t in the mood for his tone and the second time he made a snide comment I unleashed some wrath on him. My internet connection is working just fine again today, and someone else from there has already phoned me to check up on the problem and to apologise. Apparently it was a nationwide thing.
  • Nicola gets very jealous when I talk to other people. While I was having (or trying to have) a conversation with the rude one from Vodacom she first did a whole bunch of clothes tugging and moaning at me to try and get me off the phone and then (cleverly) resorted to a tactic that she knew for sure would get my attention. She took off her clothes and started going to the toilet herself…repeatedly! I thing she flushed about half a roll of paper down during the course of a 15 minute conversation. And of course I had to pause my lambasting of Vodacom-dude every so often to applaud her efforts both in the tinkle, whipe or flush phases of the process. I want you to just imagine that for a second. Something along these lines, (to the rude one)… moan moan complain throw in a few swear words ask to speak to a supervisor…(to the pink terrorist)…Ja, mamma sien jy’t ‘n toilet piepie gemaak – yay! baie mooi! +generous applause… (to the rude one)…why am I still talking to you, I thought I told you to put me through to someone who actually gives a damn?! Not my most favourite way to have a customer service related call, with the toilet flushing a thousand times in the background, but I guess it worked in the end.😆
  • I did not sleep very well last night. I’ve been up more or less since 1:00am and I’m starting to feel the slump now. I don’t know why I didn’t sleep well. I fell asleep allright, woke up and one and couldn’t fall asleep again for some reason. *yawn* Must. Have. More. Coffee.

7 comments

  1. Oh I have read a million little pieces about 4 times. I just have to every few years.

    My kids have to choose their outfits the night before and stick to their choices. It has worked well with all of them from about age 2 . So give that a try


  2. I gave up the clothes fight many moons ago! It is just not worth it – well it wasn’t for me.

    I can say this is one of the advantages of school uniforms. Kiara only wears certain things – it is part of her tactile issues – so she will wear the same pjs over and over and over and the same shirt over and over and over. Her uniform irritates her so the second she gets home she changes into the same outfit and when we go out – its the SAME clothes.

    I leave it.

    LOL at the loo going – thats very funny!


  3. I would have LOVED to hear your conversation with the Vodacom dude. I’m finding call centre staff ruder and ruder. I had a VA girl visibly sighing with me yesterday. I chose to ignore only because I had 5 minutes and I needed to sort the thing out. BUt OY!!!


  4. Cat, it’s worth a try – thanks! I strongly suspect she’ll end up wearing only one or two things she likes and nothing else if we go this route but I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Laura, is it specific fabrics that upset her? For Nicola it’s a cse that she really doesn’t want to wear pants if she can help it and if she wants to wear them she wants to wear shorts. She doesn’t like tops that are strappy, other than that she really favours shirts that have either Mini Mouse or Tinkerbell on them, or the shirts I painted for her for Christmas.

    Marcia, that would really annoy the hell out of me…and I don’t suffer in silence.😉 I’m pretty ruthless when I lose my temper about something like that. It wasn’t pretty, and I haven’t had to do it in ages. Why can’t we all just get along? *sigh*


  5. Nicola is sooooooo cuuuuuuuute. Love the picture and it’s not obvious you cut her hair (until you said it). I can’t get it out of my head that those interesting things she says come out of this tiny soul……..

    I can bet she was had some tricks up her sleeves in this picture


    • She’s such a sweetheart…and clever! (I’m not just saying that cause I’m biased…even though I am).😉 Thanks for saying that about the hair. They had school photo day today so I ventured into trimming the back a bit too last night. It looks cool to me but it could be that curly hair is just very forgiving?


  6. Oopsy!!! That was meant to read ..I can bet she had some tricks up her sleeves in this picture…😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

