h1

A weekend of festivities

19 March , 2012

20120119_165728Last week was a tough one for us, with both Nicola and I having a run in with the flu. She actually bounced back from it much easier than I did this time but we are both still coughing. I really really really hope that it kind of breezes over now and that we don’t have the same situation we’ve had last year and the year before where we stay more or less sick for the entire autumn and winter. We’ll see what happens…*shrug*

On Saturday morning we went back to swim school for the first time since we got back from holiday and Nicola LOVED it! She actually made some great progress too with some of the exercises that she battled with before. I am in two minds about whether we should carry on with swim lessons through the winter or just start up again in spring. Ooh, and we’ve had some good progress with potty training too on Saturday. Nicola happily goes in the normal loo quite often now, but she has this quirk that she’s only willing to do it if she can have ALL her clothes off, shirt included! I don’t know where she gets that, but if we’re at home I’ll go with it to get the job done?

Saturday afternoon we went to baby shower for a friend who’s expecting her first. I enjoyed the party and the gardens were just lovely, but I have to admit I did not get to ooh and aah over anything since my pink terrorist decided the name of the game would be sprint round every bend (especially the ones surrounding the pool) and climb every obstacle. She was aided and abetted in her quest by another little person of about the same age, who believe it or not runs even faster than mine! Wow, that girl can really move! Her name is Issabella, or as Nicola calls her My-Bella. I kid you not, they literally ran laps for probably close to an hour (when they weren’t trying to drink directly from the pool lying down on their bellies, or pulling up flowers to hand out to the guests!). Nicola also took some time out from her playing to personalise my drink (peartiser) with some fruit and veggies (she chucked in a few pieces of cucmber, melons, corn…and stopped just shy of adding an actual cupcake to the mix!). At least I got to spend some time chatting to Karen and I think we all had a good time.πŸ™‚

Saturday evening we decided to sleep over at my folks, because it was my mom’s birthday on Sunday and our family tradition is to sing awake the birthday person.πŸ˜‰ We had hotdogs for supper and we had one of those moments when Nicola, who likes to experiment with food rather than actually eating it, first decided to dip her viennas in her cooldrink…then after deciding that this was in fact a winning combo she whacked the entire cup of cooldrink into her plate where she made sure to stir the mustard and tomato sauce with the vienna till it all nicely disolved into a fine purple mess that no one wanted any part of.πŸ˜† When she started looking like she might want to pick the plate up and go for a walk with it I gave her an earful about making a mess, and she calmly turned to me and said, “Toemaar mamma, moenie stress nie.” Well…that was that. We all packed up laughing! I know where she gets it. When she comes to tell me she’s made a mess somewhere I always say “Toemaar Nicola, moenie stress nie, mamma sal dit gou skoonmaak.” Serves me right.πŸ˜‰

She has gotten a lot more agile in the last week or so. Before, when Nicola wanted to see what you were doing, she would moan at you to pick her up or to be allowed to sit on the counter to watch till you gave in and let her. New development…she just climbs on herself. She moves bar stools around and somehow gets to the counter that way at my parents’ place and at our house she pulls out drawers, each slighly less than the one below it and build her own staircase! I’m kind of impressed and kind of horrified all at the same time. Counter space is not a safe zone for anything anymore, meds and brakeable items all included.

Sunday was my mom’s birthday. We sang for her when we woke up and Nicola gave her our gift (big step there since she usually just tries to hang on to gift bags!). I knitted my mom a scarf from the fluffiest ligh grey wool you’ve ever laid eyes on and we also gave her a gift voucher to attend a mosaic course which she’s been dying to go for for ages. We all went to the local Spur for lunch to celebrate so that Nicola could play while we ate and I must say it was great. The food was good and they’ve installed a whole bunch of new playground toys recently so Nicola was thoroughly entertained.

They had a face painter there too, and I asked Nicola if she wanted to have her face painted. She freaked out a bit so I thought she might enjoy it if I let her draw on my face first to see how it works. She did a fantastically colourful scribble all over me in red, blue, green, yellow, black and white – but still refused to have hers done afterward…so I ended up being the only one painted.πŸ˜‰ You should have seen the other kids while she was busy drawing on me!πŸ˜† I think some of the other parents didn’t thinkΒ  we were that funny, because they didn’t want to be drawn on, but we had loads of fun doing it.
image

We got home last night just after 20:00 and went more or less straight to bed. It really was a lovely weekend.πŸ™‚

10 comments

  1. She’s getting to be a great little companion and you guys are making some wonderful family memories together.


  2. we also had a hectic weekend and I am FINISHED. Can’t wait to do ZIP on Wed but tidy the houseπŸ™‚


  3. Momcat, she’s such a sweetie pie…πŸ™‚ I’m lucky to have her in my life.

    Marcia, I need to catch up on some laundry (again) and Wednesday I’m thinking of going to chuck some bread at ducks somewhere and just taking it easy.


  4. Nicola is so funnyπŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Sounds like a very fun weekend


  5. Bly om te hoor jy en die pienk terroris voel beter!

    Ek dink dit is heel snaaks dat die ander ouers jou skeef aan gekyk het omdat Nicola op jou geteken het. Hahaha!


  6. adesolaf, she’s a riot!πŸ˜† And yes thanks, we had a great weekend.

    sunnyfish, glo dit of nie mater – nie almal wil hulle gesig vol geskilder he^ nie…ek verstaan dit ook nie.πŸ˜‰


  7. Oh it does sound like a great one. And yes, we have a climber too (L) and it is rather scary


  8. Cat, part of me kind of likes it. I don’t want Nicola to be afraid of her own shadow and the fact is that she is actually a very good climber. I remember that as a child I needed a chair to climb into a tree! (and it was fairly embarresing!). So maybe this is not all bad?πŸ˜‰


  9. Such beautiful memories you are making with her. Love the idea of a craft class gift voucher. Can you believe that I have never thought to ask for something like that before? This will change today.


    • It came to me in an email…like a sign!πŸ˜‰ I couldn’t resist.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

