h1

This week in bullet points of sorts

7 March , 2012
  • Monday morning traffic was a real buzz kill. It took me 2,5 hours to put my 20km behind me. (yesterday wasn’t much better, ironically today which is the big CBD march day I got here almost an hour faster…go figure)
  • I left a few simple and easy instructions before I went on leave, none were followed. Which leads me to believe that people don’t know how to read anymore. Many tantrums were thrown. All parties have been whipped back into shapes. Relative peace has been restored to the land.
  • This picture of a white board is another source of grumpiness for me this week. I need to have a white board fitted for our department. I got aproval from fascilities on the location. I ordered the board and arranged for fitting to happen while I was gone. When I got back, guess what? Not done. Not only that but now they tell me it can’t go on the wall where I want it because we’re not allowed to drill holes in the solid walls, only the dry wall. I have now had to order feet for the board. It is considerably bigger than the one you see here. Once the feet arrive it will be fun to see where the board ends up standing.
  • I arranged a training meeting for two of our new secret agents while I was gone. Neither one pitched for it after I called in a personal favour to get it set up and had to reschedule it twice to fit their diaries. Grrr! It appears the culprit in this one turns out to be me, believe it or not. Our secret place calendar and email program has a special quirk that I didn’t explain to the new kids. When a reschedule notification come through you have to actually open it or your calendar doesn’t get updated. *face-palm*

image

  • Nicola eased into going back to school pretty painlessly. Except on Monday she flat out refused to have a nap so you can just imagine how tired and cranky she was feeling by the time we started approaching bed time. There was a fair amount of drama.

image

  • I think my landlord is repainting his lounge and his wall art is now chilling next to the garage. Nicola is fascinated with them, and takes great joy in pointing out the bum (and so on) to me every morning when we leave the house. As you know Nicola and I are currently dealing with the fact that she doesn’t want to wear clothes either, so this really isn’t helping. I’m sure once the painting is done these guys will move back inside, but on the off chance that they’re still out and about by the weekend I will consider dressing them.

image

  • Yesterday when I stopped at the school to pick Nicola up,Β I was just in time to see a brat push her over. She skinned and bruised her knee quite thoroughly as you can see. Even this morning she didn’t want to put her full weight on this leg yet (I think the skin pulls a bit which makes her hesitant). UsuallyΒ I think Nicola would probably just get up and push her back, but because she saw me all hell broke loose. There was a lot of screaming, blood and tears. Of course, mamma-pants that I am I wasn’t feeling very kind towards the bully either and the teacher saw my face and hurried to shunt her off to the naughty corner in a flash. It’s a skinned knee, not world war three…*breathe in…breathe out…1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and so on*
  • Nicola has now told me she has an eina at least a thousand times. I anticipate hearing it until the scabs fall off at least! Last night she actually had a big argument with my brother about it, which was hilarious to see. He was trying to illustrate the walk-it-off mentality to her and told her it’s not sore. She quite passionately defended her point of view that it was not only an eina, but in fact a BAD eina.πŸ˜†

image

  • My buddy old pal, T, is in hospital. This girl has had the worst luck so far in 2012! First she stepped funny and tore all the ligaments in her left leg. She ended up being confined to her parents’ couch for six weeks with a remote for company because her own house has too many steps to get around in with one leg out of action. Then she developed a mysterious back pain. When she queried it with the doctor who saw her about the leg, he just told her to stop using the crutches and she’d be fine. Luckily she went for a second opinion because it turns out that she had an embolism from the ligament thing and now she has two blood clots in her lungs, one in each lung! She is in hospital till at least Friday, if nothing else goes wrong. They’ve got her on oxigen and anticoagulents and those freaky ciculation socks, and people regularly come round to stick needles in her. She is not even allowed to walk/hobble further than the nurses station. The doctor tells her that if she doesn’t take it easy there is a good chance that she will end up needing a heart transplant at some point in the future. Plus they are watering down her milo to top it all.😐
  • She is remarkably chipper under the circumstances if you ask me. Way to keep your chin up my friend. Get better soon! And let’s hope this is the last bit of bad luck to cross your path for a very long time…

image

  • I do have some good news too. Well done for hanging in there to get to it!πŸ˜‰ I am busy knitting something for my mom for her birthday, which is around the corner (18th). But I have been looking for something else to give her with it too. I think she deserves a bit of spoil cause she’s great! Yesterday I found that something. I am feeling quite chuffed with that fact. Going to pick it up on Sunday and quietly gloat at my success until D-day because I just know she is going to love it!πŸ˜€

5 comments

  1. hey, I know that girlπŸ™‚

    I chatted to her as I held the lift open for her the other day at our secret placeπŸ™‚

    That embolism stuff is no joke. And I’ve had those needles in the tummy – she is BRAVE!

    The people not doing what you told them to do is so standard – I have a mild heart attack if people DO what is agreed without follow-up and being chased. It’s actually verrry sad.


  2. Yip, that’s the friend I told you about. She is bruised black and blue all over from those shots. It really doesn’t look like fun.

    You know Marcia, ALL I asked them to do was copy in a few people on emails that they usually only send to me. Not brain surgery.


  3. So sorry to read about your friend, I wish her speedy recovery and hope that the rest of the year brings her all things good.
    πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚ this is reaction to Nicola and her ‘BAD eina’ and the wall arts


  4. Poor friend and poor Nicola. For Nicola at least some Monkeyblood ( mercurochrome) will help,a lot


  5. Thanks adesolaf, hehehe…wall art is down. I spoke to my landlord last night to ask when the painting would be done. Turns out it was banned from the house and he was planning on fitting it to the main gate. i told him i would have to dress them. They are now galavanting inside the garage.

    Cat, I put on some of Sally’s herbal bum cream (with the bees wax and tee tree oil etc.) after a good old soap and water scrub. It actually looks like it’s healing quite nicely. I forgor clean about mercurochrome! haven’t used that in ages, i guess it’s time to get some for the first aid kit.πŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

