h1

Wednesday…just 3 more sleeps!

22 February , 2012

This was not the face I woke up this morning in case you were wondering.

20120116_171542Nicola woke up on the cranky side of the bed and she let me know it! I am not kidding when I say that she screamed at me non-stop in a very high and persistent pitch for probably close to 20 minutes about one thing or another. NON. STOP.

Today I am very grateful that I have one dodgy ear.

First it was about the actual waking up, then the fact that I wanted to change her nappy, then it was the putting on of a new nappy, then the fact that she had to wear clothes again, then the choice in clothes, the fact that she didn’t want milk, that she did want milk, that she didn’t want THAT milk, that I closed to f-ing milk, then the brushing of teeth and hair and that it’s not mine and she wants me to leave it alone, then I had to change the sheet on the bed (because of the amount of time we spent on the not wanting a new nappy part of the morning) which offended her beyond recognition, then she wanted something to play on the laptop, then she didn’t want something to play on the laptop, wanted to be carried to the car, wanted not to be touched at the same time, wanted me to carry her and everything she happened to see on the way to the car, without touching any of it.

I will admit that this morning took it out of me, and we didn’t manage to get from the bed to the car and everything in between without some discipline being handed out and some very stern words…for which I got another earful of course. The screaming really has got to stop…I am not enjoying that one little bit.

And then as persistent and mysterious as the performing was the moment we actually got outside (where she didn’t want to go), it stopped. And she was all smiles and happy chatter all the way to school with no further drama. Making me wonder if I had perhaps imagined it all to begin with.

Oh well…that’s life I guess? *shrug* Is this the normal kind of performance for terrible two’s?

Next week she can sleep until 9 if she feels like it and I bet you she’ll be up at 4 or 5 every day.๐Ÿ˜‰

PS! Just 3 more sleeps till we go on holiday – whoohoo!๐Ÿ˜€ I am also looking forward to seeing a couple of dear but long last seen friends who happen to live down there now, and for them to meet my pink terrorist (whomย I sincerely hope will be having a good day when we do, so as not to put them off having any of their own ever).

PPS! It’s okay really…she’s entitled to have a bad day now and then too. And she was super adorable last night. Her favourite story at the moment is The Ugly Duckling…she doesn’t quite get the swan reference though because I don’t think she’s ever seen one so she calls it a goose, but still. Now if you have little people of your own you’ll know that the toys don’t always last. A leg or a head comes off here and there and inevitably you end up with a container of bits and pieces at some point that needs sorting through and chucking out (when they’re not looking because they can get very sentimental about broken toys that are THEIRS). Nicola whips out the leg of something from this box and proudly announces to me, “Kyk mamma, dis ‘n lelike eendjie!”๐Ÿ˜† I don’t anticipate it ever turning swan on us though…our box needs cleaning out again.

8 comments

  1. Ah, she and Mr C can have crappy mornings together when they are married. Kid you not, he was a nightmare this morning. ( he thinks Nicola is cute by her photos)


  2. Cat, mwahaha! Thanks, I’ll tell her. You’ve got to ask yourself if there is enough coffee in the world for a household with two non morning people in it.๐Ÿ˜‰


  3. LOL at your comment.

    Well, I don’t want to scare you but we had one baby from 2 years 2 months til 2 years 6 months who was a terror of note. The screaming used to DRIVE me out of the house in the mornings………

    And you’re right – then they’re sweet and you wonder if you just imagined all of the crazy!


  4. This is so funny, amazing how kids can have such a range of “bi-polar” emotions๐Ÿ˜‰


  5. Marcia, yip – she is a ray of sunshine again today. (Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!) I guess we all have our bad days.

    adesolaf,๐Ÿ˜† it’s much funnier in retrospect when your ears aren’t ringing anymore!


  6. It sounds like you have been spending time in my house!


    • ๐Ÿ˜† Shame Charlotte! Every day?


      • 90% of the days… My kids take turns on when to be difficult in the morning.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

