h1

Thank you for that, and then some!

3 February , 2012

Still one of the old phone photos…almost there. ๐Ÿ˜‰

201111023944 So as you know I was having a rough around the edges kind of day yesterday…actually this whole week has not been the peachiest week I’ve ever had. By the time I left the office all I desperately wanted to do was curl up and play dead for a bit…but Nicola was having none of that, of course.

There was a massive storm by the time we got home and I swear the lighting actually hit our cottage. I love storms, especially the thunder and lightning kind, and even I jumped about a foot high when that one hit. Of course Nicola then decided that the safest spot in the house was on top of me…which made cooking and doing laundry a bit of a challenge but which on the other handย was lovely in the I-need-a-hug department. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We sat down to have dinner andย I said to Nicola, “Kom ons bid, muis.” and she said, “Mamma, ek wil dit self doen!” So I let her run with it to see where we would end up. It was the cutest thing, I promise you. She put her hands in front of her little face, palms touching, in the classical prayer position…then insisted that I do the same. We closed our eyes and she said, “Liewe Jesus, dankie vir die koekies. Amen.” ๐Ÿ˜† We were having chicken soup. You know that actually just turned my whole day around. Every time I felt a bit of the glum coming on, I just thought to myself, yes…thank you for the cookies indeed and I couldn’t help but smile again. ๐Ÿ˜€

Kids…they say the darndest things hey?

Ps! Thank you to everyone who made an effort to rally around me this week in whatever way or form. You rock my world and I don’t say that lightly.

6 comments

  1. oh my word, that is the sweetest thing! Too cute.

    I need to start getting them to pray over meals too – they don’t eat with us, you see and so on Sunday at our friends’ house, we said, “let’s pray” deferring to Uncle Lance and Connor shouts, “Mummy, Connor pray!” so Uncle Lance was very kind and Connor prays, “Father…. thank you for the food!”

    I suppose that’s the basic idea, right. But it was very sweet!


  2. Awh, that’s cute. My post from last night is just sort of the older version of this.


  3. Aw now how could you not feel better after that.


  4. Marcia, we eat together but usually she’s not overly fussed about the praying bit before the food and carries on more or less without me. That’s why it was such a surprise, I loved it!

    Angel, exactly! ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. Awww….too sweet. How can you not have a smile after that? We had a thunderstorm in CT last week. It was AWESOME. I could definitely get used to it.


  6. Yip…she’s a real ray of sunshine. ๐Ÿ™‚



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

