h1

Recipe : Peanut Butter Cookies

23 November , 2011

These are really easy to make – if I can do it, it’s practically foolproof! πŸ˜‰

201110013400 Ingredients:

  • 125 ml margerine or butter
  • 125ml peanut butter
  • 125ml white sugar
  • 125ml brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 325ml cake flour
  • 1ml salt
  • 2ml bicarbonate of soda

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180’C (350’F) and grease the pans (we put about 12 on a sheet and made 4 sheets)
  2. Cream the butter/marg and peanut butter together with either a mixer or a wooden spoon
  3. Add 2 spoons white and 2 spoons brown sugar at a time to the butter mix and mix well before adding the next 4 spoons full
  4. Mix in the egg (I kind of forgot this step and only added it at the end whenΒ I finally figured out why the blasted heaps of dough didn’t want to form into balls – the recipe is very forgiving when it comes to timing)
  5. Sift in the flour, salt and bicarb and mix well (this is a good point to get in there with your hands if you’re that way inclined)
  6. Kneed the dough until it forms a smooth solid mass (doesn’t take long)
  7. Roll little balls of dough in your hands of approximately 10ml each (or figure out that you’ve forgotten the stupid egg and go back to step 4)
  8. Pack the dough balls on the baking tray and space evenly at least 5cm apart. Slightly flatten them with a fork (we went for the traditional crisscross fork action here)
  9. Bake each tray full for 15 to 20 minutes untill the cookies are light brown on top.
  10. Lift the cookies with a spatula (or similar kitchen device) and place on a cooling rack for a few minutes (or just loosen them on the baking tray and eat them while they’re hot, but not hot enough to singe your tongue!)

Ta-dah! See…easy peasy. I bet they would work well with some chocolate chips in them too. πŸ˜‰

Ps! The untranslated and non-narrated version of this recipe comes from the Klein Kook en Geniet (1987) which my mom bought me when I was a little girl. So cool thatΒ I get to do this with my own daughter. πŸ˜€

10 comments

  1. Kook and geniet is awesome!

    These sound awesome. Will definitely come and search for this post again πŸ™‚


  2. They were really great and perfect with a cup of tea!! Thanks Louisa!


  3. I will definitely try but I’m doing them as drop cookies πŸ™‚


  4. Gosh they sound great = but L is allergic so yes, Ill pass by


  5. acidicice, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

    Wanette, any time chica – thanks for the visit. πŸ™‚

    Marcia, I’m pretty sure they’ll work that way too.

    cat, shame man – that sucks…legend has it that I have a slight intollerance too. I’m not allowed to have peanut butter more than once every two weeks or preferably once a month. I don’t swell up and stop breathing or anything that dramatic, but I do feel a bit icky afterwards. *sigh* But I love it…


  6. My ma het vir my ‘n Engelse “Kook en Geniet” gekoop sodat Sepp dit ook kon lees πŸ™‚ Daardie koekies klink so lekker! Ek gaan hierdie naweek jou resep probeer. Mmm…. grondboontjie botter….


  7. Laat my weet wat jy daarvan gedink het?


  8. Ah “Kook en Geniet”. Still one of the best South African recipe books.


  9. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!


    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      I don’t mind at all. My head is never clear of writing. When i’m not busy writing, I’m thinking about writing. On my phone I have a little note app where I can quickly jot down ideas as they come up and later when I have a few minutes I’ll flesh it out and post it.

      If you have a hard time beginning, my tip would be to just write without worrying that it will be perfect. Then go back and change the bits you don’t like when you’re done. Sometimes it’s just easier to get it all out and then trim it down to where you want it to be?

      Good luck!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

