h1

List update – End of October

31 October , 2011

Update time! We’re  3 months in it so in theory I should be at least about a quarter of the way through now. Roughly 8,5 items – and I’m on 8 (without counting the half done ones). Looking good! 🙂

201108072686 What I intend to do this year (in no particular order):

  1. Move to a 2 bedroom place
  2. Grow a veggie garden
  3. Grow a herb garden – in keeping with the container garden situation I now have a pot of basil and a pot of thyme and a pot of chives too, still looking for oregano and rosemary and mint (Tamara, I’m coming!) 😆
  4. Sort out my bookshelf situation – 19/10
  5. Get Nicola’s vaccinations up to date – 30/9 We have the MMR under the belt at last! Next one due end of the month and then we are up to date. 31/10 – since Nicola is a bit under the weather at the moment I think we’ll move this into Mid-November and see how it goes.
  6. Organise a really awesome birthday party for Nicola – things have been booked, plans are being hatched and looking good
  7. Open a savings account for Nicola – As if I summoned it I saw a very informative article in a magazine the other day about the fees and interest rates applicable to kiddie saving accounts. I need to do a bit more home work but it looks likely that neither one of my banks would be the best choice…imagine that!
  8. Begin…and finish reading at least 12 books – #1 The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine, MD #2 Who Moved My Cheese by Dr Spencer Johnson #3 Douglas Adams’s Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy, Part 6 of 3, And Another Thing…by Eoin Colfer #4 The complete practical encyclopedia of Bonsai by Ken Norman #5 House Rules by Jodi Picoult #6 Easyway to stop smoking by Allen Carr #7 The Fred Factor by Mark Sanborn #8 In progress
  9. Chuck everything unflattering out of my wardrobe
  10. Maintain an actual hairstyle (possibly the one you see me sporting in this photo) – time to schedule a refresher cut
  11. Print some photos for our albums – I am toying with the idea of rather doing a photo book per year like cat does. 3/10 – I have ordered the Qphoto software disk online 10/10 – Have started calculating what this might actually cost. Unless I’ve managed to shake all semblance of math-skills I could print almost two regular albums for the price of one photobook. Could this be right?!
  12. Start writing poetry again
  13. Lose another 5kg (hopefully around my non-existent middle) –1 down, 4 to go but it doesn’t seem to come from the middle like I hoped it would, 31/10 – No progress this month (at least I didn’t go backwards?)
  14. Find a job/career I love – Plan is in process. Macgafter is being tested. Presentations are being compiled. World domination is imminent!
  15. Stop smoking (again)
  16. Have a beach holiday and relax – Looks like end Feb for this one
  17. Have at least 4 weekends away – first one scheduled for November
  18. Buy a tumble drier – done 20/8
  19. Go and see at least 2 movies in a cinema
  20. Take Nicola to go visit my grandmother in Thabazimbi – done 13/8
  21. Keep my car clean (inside and outside) – washed 8/10 and vacuumed! It appears that under all the gunk I actually own a blue car. 31/10 – Looking good
  22. Start teaching Nicola how to swim – 16/10 Swim in an unfamiliar (and much colder) pool. Nicola loves it, she’s quite good at the kicking but not the rest yet. 29/10 – My kid is FEARLESS when it comes to the pool. She hates the flotation devices though. We’ll shop around till we find one she likes.
  23. Get Nicola potty trained – 1/10 Started a sticker chart for Nicola at home for successful toilet use. She’s doing very well so far. 11/10 – Sticker chart abadoned because it upsets Nicola. 12/10 – Training at school going well, refuses to use loo at home. 28/10 – Asked to go on the loo at home, step in the right direction YAY!
  24. Have a birthday party for myself
  25. Update my will
  26. Take or have taken more photos of Nicola and myself together – This is going very well so far
  27. Wear a dress now and then (at least on Spring day and Valentines day) –Spring day skirt wearing *check* – 25/10 Wore a skirt again (no pics this time sorry)
  28. Make homemade gifts for my very special people – 1/10 Thinking hard about what to do for Christmas gifts for the family, and especially for Nicola. 19/10 – I think I have my list, now to get cracking on the production. 
  29. Go to church more often (this will not be hard to do since we didn’t go when we were sick, and we were mostly sick) – *blush* & No Comment Face
  30. Make some new MP3 disks for the car – busy making a playlist to write to disc
  31. Random acts of kindness whenever I can – I could have been kinder this past month, actually I was a f-ing ogre mostly, except to Nicola, I was very zen around her
  32. At least one grand adventure!
  33. Put a serious dent in my debt
  34. Buy a couch

I need to pick up the pace now, so I’ll have time to procrastinate on a few of the bigger ones later. 😉

7 comments

  1. wow…I’m impressed! you’re really making good progress on your list! I still haven’t pulled enough courage together to actually start on a list :/


  2. Ruby, all baby steps dear…I really feel as if I should be further along already.


  3. I’m very impressed with how accountable you’re being.

    Please can you put the updates in a different colour for next month? Just so it’s easier for me to follow along (my memory is shot)

    Yesssssss photo books are verrrrrry expensive – you have to buy a groupon/ wicount to make it worthwhile the time, money and energy 🙂 (yes, I’m being bossy)

    I loved The Fred Factor – what did you think?

    Thanks for the kick – now I have to do my update list – and another update on my 37 things list….


  4. You are doing really well. Need to have a look at mine to see where I am at.


  5. Seriously impressed with how well you’ve done with this list!


  6. Good progress/ I have to say that I do not really agree are that photobooks are that expensive – actually we have calculated the amount to pay for prints, and then buy and album, etc. and it evens out – it depends how many photos you put into it. It custom design mine on the Qphoto templates. And you are looking at the Picasso books? It;s the more affordable line.

    The Princess has a maxisave account at Standard bank – it is not specific for kids but has no bank fees unless you withdraw money (and then it is stiff) but the point is not to? And a good interest. WE looked at a lot of options and decided on this but it was 6 years ago, maybe there are better options now.


  7. Marcia, I can’t do the different colours – but I’ll find another way of showing what happened when okay? I enjoyed the Fred Factor, but it hasn’t been one of my altime favourite reads. It’s a good idea but i actually can’t believe he managed to fill a whole book with “be nice to other people and go the extra mile” just stated differently. I think i may have enjoyed it more if there were more stories of Freds in it and less of the waffling in between. 😉

    Julia and Angel, thank you!

    cat, I received the software in the post for the books. I think I want to try one and see for myself. I love the personalised calenders though…definitely see some of that in my future for grandparents on Christmas. 😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

