h1

So…about that potty training business

19 October , 2011

Let me start off by showing you the beginning?

201109153212We were making a special occasion of it – and that calls for take aways. I am not the biggest fan of pizza, but I do love Scooters Double bacon with extra cheese. I saw they had a special range for Nicola so I got her her very own one. As far as I can tell the base is just a bit more solid so you don’t have to be so carefull lifting it as with the normal pizzas.

201109153215Next step: We whip out the crayons and start decorating the hell out of Nicola’s step.

201109153216All personalised – see? 😀

201109153217And then a quick dry run…

Anyhoo: the potty training is on-going. I have no doubt that we will eventually get there, but we are not there yet. At the moment Nicola is actually doing better at school with this than at home. The reason might have something to do with the fact that they have actual kiddy size loos, whereas we have a step and a special seat that fits loosely on the top of our regular toilet. We also have an actual potty. Nicola seems unwilling to use either.

I don’t want it to become a traumatic experience for her so I’m not pushing it at all, but since she’s doing much better at school with it and the teacher has finally relented and stopped fighting me, I haven’t clued them in that we are in fact not persuing it very diligently at home. (bad me…tsk-tsk!). I’m letting her run around half naked as much as she likes, hoping that she will heed the call of the porcelain, but when she asks for a diaper I give her one.

So that’s where we’re at with potty training. Nicola is doing brilliantly at it at school, and when I’m involved not so much. (coupled with the bedtime fight of last night, the hair brushing thing of this morning, and the fact that my daughter refuses to eat anything I cook in general, I am feeling a bit of a failure on the mommy front today – don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll find my mojo again…hopefully soon).

*Queue the violins for my pity party please* 😆

2 comments

  1. As long as she’s progressing at school then you’re making progress!


  2. That’s what I was thinking too 🙂



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

