h1

Bedtime, or not

19 October , 2011

Nicola, “washing dishes” or my letters from school, whatever looks dirtiest. šŸ˜‰ You have never even seen the scale of tantrum I am subjected to if I don’t let her help with the dishes. Resistance is futile – I just let her wash bottles with some cold water, no soap, and redo them later when she’s done drinking the water and dumping everything on the floor or dry rack, or behind the tumble drier.

201109133194I was not the most popular person in the house last night for Nicola, and that’s very revealing if you consider that it’s just the two of us there.

Bed-time is at 20:00. I’m flexible within half an hour of that –Ā 19:30 is also fine šŸ˜‰ Oh alright, or 20:30. But that’s about as far as it goes. Last night she did not want to settle down. I got crankier and more serious about it every time I put her back in bed. Eventually I realised that perhaps I needed a time out before I really lost it so I went to go sit in the bathroom for a few minutes with my head in my hands. Nicola comes up to me and invites me to come play blocks with her – it is already 21:00 by this time. I tell her no, and that it’s time to go to bed like I’ve been saying for the last hour already.

Do you know what she did? She didn’t sass me…she had the whole quivering bottom lip and tears thing going and then says to me, “Mamma, jy’s lelik. Nog nie slaap nie.” I felt like such an asshole. I put her back in bed (again) and gave her a kiss on her forehead. I’d love to stay up and play blocks with her, but she needs her sleep or she battles to get up for school again the next morning.Ā  Luckily she fell asleep then, because I had more or less run out of strict by then and would have caved at the next sign of rebellion.

I had a million things that I wanted to do when she fell asleep but I felt so bad about the unpleasantness I just put myself in bed too, and had a little pity party.

This morning she battled to get up (of course). And while I was brushing her hair so that she could see where she was going at school today she’s screaming like I’m trying to scalp her or something. Then she says, “Mamma! ENOUGH!” Fine. I left the hair exactly like that – they’ll have to do something about it at school. I’m not making myself the asshole twice in a row, I need to save my strenghths for bedtime tonight. šŸ˜‰

I still feel like a villian…if I win the Lotto this weekend I’m letting her stay up as late as she wants and sleep in the next day with me. šŸ˜†

8 comments

  1. Oh lol – toddler manipulation 101 šŸ™‚

    Bedtime is STILL a fight in our house – they want to stay up and we are strict about it – probably the only thing I do not budge on.


  2. Laura, glad to hear I’m not the only one then. that quivering bottom lip and the tears are really intimidating!


  3. I am very strict on bedtime during the week – weekends I will be a bit more relaxed , especially with A. But most nights they are easy/


  4. Rather you than me:/ I’m epically strict when babysitting..but i can just imagine it’s completely different if it’s your own child…you don’t WANT to be the baddie at all. Shame lady


  5. I don’t mind being the bad one – send her over. She can join K in hating me šŸ™‚

    come read the story on my blog in about 30 mins…


  6. Cat, we’ll get there…eventually… I hope!

    Ruby, I know I won’t be doing her any favours if I raise her to be a brat…so even though it’s hard I’m okay with it – most days. I also have to be careful that I don’t overcompensate because I’m the only person in team Nicola. šŸ˜‰

    Marcia, I doubt that K hates you… šŸ˜† I’m watching my reader for that post.


  7. Bed time routine was something I was also always strict about. The knucklehead is a monster in the morning if he doesn’t get enough sleep.
    Don’t beat yourself up about it.


  8. Yip, being the mommy has it’s bad-cop aspects šŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

