h1

Nicola’s favourite things (right now)

18 October , 2011

I’ve seen a few of these posts floating around and we also want to play – the idea being to see how your child’s favourites evolve from one year to the next I suppose. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (a little snap shot of likes)

201109103148

Favourites:

  • DVD: Lion King (thank goodness we’ve moved on from Space Chimps!) she also likes Happy Feet, Tarzan, Piglet’s Big Movie, Pochahontas, Chipmunks, Lilo and Stitch, Little Mermaid. Her favourite TV show is The Mickey Mouse Club House (which she calls the Minnie Mouse Club House – hehehehe)
  • Meal: Anything not cooked by me apparently (when I’m cooking she likes fish fingers, mash and peas…or anything with noodles)
  • Fruit: Papaja (without a doubt, she loves it) she also likes bananas, but not as much
  • Vegetable: Peas (but really anything except pumpkin as long as I’m not cooking it I guess)
  • Breakfast: They tell me she eats cereal at school, over weekends she flat out refuses so she usually ends up getting a piece of cheese or droe”wors just to have something in her stomach at least
  • Drink: Milk, Water or any sort of cooldrink (but in general she prefers water during the day and milk at night)
  • Drinking yogurt flavour: Strawberry, or granadilla (a.k.a armadillo)
  • Sweets: Chocolate (plain dairy milk), Tic tacs, Smarties (but she only likes the candy coating and will leave the inside), Jelly babies, Marshmallows (varkies!), also Magnum Ice Creams (especially the one I have in my hand, not her own) ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Chips/Crisps: Cheese Curls, Niknaks, Or any other crinkle cut chips as long as they don’t burn
  • Toy: Crayons (to draw on everything in sight!) and her soft toys to the extent where she puts them down for “naps” allย the house (with blankets/towels/dish rags)ย 
  • Colour: She loves saying blue and orange, but if you put two things in front her to pick she usually still goes for the green. In crayons she goes for the black, because it shows up better on the tumble drier or kitchen wall. ๐Ÿ˜†

Something that happened yesterday:

Well, it kind of started happening last week and now happens more and more often. If you ever really want to know what you say often, have a toddler around that repeats everything – she’s like a little parrot! ๐Ÿ˜† Her favourite thing at the moment is to look at me, and I mean not a casual glance, a serious LOOK like she’s trying to figure out how my mind works or if it works at all, and then she says, “Mamma…wat maak jy?” To which I answer of course with whatever I am busy doing. She’ll repeat this question a couple of times until she’s had enough of the explanations and then she’ll wrap it up with, “That’s crazy!” and walk off. I was well aware of the fact that the crazy comment is something I say a lot (although usually not as a parting line), but everyone who hears about this agree that the “what are you doing”ย thing is also very much me (which I didn’t realise).

The other things she does at the moment, is probably even cuter. I wouldn’t say I’m the strictest parent around but I do have a couple of holy cows (who doesn’t) and they’re usually regarding things that I consider potentially dangerous. Nicola KNOWS, but still often chooses to ignore my holy cows, but she also KNOWS that this kind of thing will lead to some proper scolding, possibly even a smack on the bum if it was serious enough…her latest trick, which totally disarms me is that she turns to me with a smile and says “Jammer Mamma.” gives me a giant hug and kisses! (Nicola doesn’t like giving kisses in general). Other times if she sees that I’m really upset about something she pats me on the shoulder and tells me “Toemaar…” Too cute. ๐Ÿ˜€ I try to keep the serious face on but sometimes it’s just too funny.

And lastly, something she does now quite often is pop out from behind a corner to surprise me with her little arms throw wide for a hug exclaiming, “Mamma, it’s Me!” Then she tries to run me over for a snuggle – love that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 comments

  1. i love these posts too – technically I should be able to do them easily but I’m so darn lazy to make notes.

    btw Nicola has it right – dairy milk cadbury’s is the only way to go


  2. Marcia, I was in two minds about doing one. A lot of Nicola’s likes and dislikes come and go from one week to the next (although I doubt that she’ll like pumpkin by next week!), but it looked like fun so I went with it.


  3. My heart melts just reading that:)


  4. […] so I’ve seen this on Jenty and Louisa‘s sites and thought that I’d like to do one too. ย At least it’ll get me posting […]


  5. ๐Ÿ˜† Thanks Ruby…


  6. LOL at the crayon colour choice!
    I love the little things she’s doing! Such a cutie pie!


  7. Angel, *sigh* this week it’s the coffee table and yellow. Luckily it comes off fairly easily. Everytime she draws on something not paper I take her crayons for a week. She’s either a future graffiti artist or a budding interior decorator? ๐Ÿ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

