h1

Carwash

14 October , 2011

Sometimes you don’t really have a choice about facing your fears? šŸ˜‰

201109083103

Nicola sometimes finds something fairly terrifying, which I don’t think is scary at all. And these things tend to come and go. at some point she was really scared of the loo for instance, and would actually start crying if anyone flushed it within earshot. Now she is not at all phased by it. In fact last night she tried to climb on top of it to steal the potty training sticker chart (and I don’t mean the seat bit either!).

Right now she’s really scared of car washes and vacuum cleaners. I’m not exactly sure why, but I’m sure she’ll snap out of it again at some point. A few weeks ago when i picked her up from school she asked me if we were going to take the car for a wash. That is how I learnt that she was scared of them now… šŸ˜†

I can’t exactly drive off with a car covered in soap, so we had to get through it – but she was so upset that I was rather relieved that I only asked for a wash and go. I tried everything from taking her out of her car seat to come sit on my lap, to turning the radio up, to covering her eyes and ears (thinking it might be the noise freaking her out). No joy.

Eventually what did the trick was handing over my GPS. She put all her focus and frustration into hammering things into that touch screen and clutching it as if her life depended on it – while trying her level best to not see the guy with the pressure water hose next to the car. (I still have about 20 “new” locations to go and delete off it)

Shame man, I won’t be taking her back there in a hurry.

8 comments

  1. Kiara cant do those wishy washy car washes – its a sensory over load for her – even now. She will stand with the dude who controls it all and watches but she can not be in the car.


  2. Our L can not do a carwash either – just like Kiara it is sensory overload.


  3. I can imagine that it would be scary for a kid. I like my carwash – I drop it off while I do my shopping and when I get back it’s clean. Plus they give me free parking for two hours šŸ™‚


  4. Laura & cat, mmm I have actually not considered that she might not grow out of it at some point. I’ll keep an eye on it.

    Tamara, I think it freaks her out partly because of the noise and partly because she sees the water coming at her and maybe she doesn’t trust the window? I have always found it rather relaxing…but for now I arrange for her to stay with my mom for a bit when I want to take the car for a wash.


  5. Joshua was also petrified of the car wash.


  6. Did he grow out of it or is he still scared?


  7. Perhaps the children at school have fears that she hears about?


  8. I don’t think she’s at that stage yet…I think it’s probably just the noise or the fact that she sees the water coming and she’s not too sure about the window?



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

