h1

Another tiny update – and this one might actually be sort of tiny

21 September , 2011

201108302953

You remember that 33-34 list right? Well, on my list of things to do one of the items is to buy a couch during the course of this year. At the moment we are just using a single bed for that purpose. It works fine, but a couch is a very grownup thing to have, and I feel that I simply must have one at this point of my life. 😉 (I did once own a sleeper couch, but it’s just not the same).

Anyhoo, a couch…no THE couch, has found me (on Twitter of all places)! It is purple and enormous and comfy looking. Since the other stuff I own are mostly blue and green I am probably one of the only people I know who can actually pull off a purple couch anyway. It’s perfect. It is the perfect purple couch of destiny. 😀 And I am collecting it tonight.

I see scatter pillows in my future, and I strongly suspect at least one of them will be shiny. Nicola will get a real kick out of that I’m sure.

And speaking of the little light of my life, let me give you a quick update on how the potty training is going too:

We started on Friday night by decorating the other step and kicking of the undie wearing. Initially it was not a great success. We cleaned up about 5 oopsies up to Saturday morning, but at least 3 of them were really close to the loo. I had a good think about it and came to the conclusion that the actual seat was freaking her out because it wobbles a bit when she gets on. She’ll get on the loo, then get off again in a hurry and have an accident right next to it. So, we canned the idea until we could get to Baby City to buy a more sturdy seat the next day.

Roll on Sunday, and we live to fight another battle. We got the new seat (only 100 smackers – I was anticipating much worse) and it just fits on top of a regular toilet seat. It also wobbles a little bit, but it’s padded and she doesn’t seem to mind it at all. The best thing about it (other than that Nicola approves of it) is that it’s small enough to fit in the baby bag so we can use a loo anywhere now.

Right…next obstacle: getting trainee to sit still long enough for training to happen. Have you seen how busy toddlers are?! They never sit still. For Nicola to use the toilet I really needed her to sit still for a bit and realise what was happening. So I had her sit on the new seat with a plastic container full of water, soap and sponges to play with on her lap while I sat next to her on the floor chatting to her like it was the most natural place in the world to be doing just that.

And then, after probably close to 30 minutes, magic was about to happen. She finally had to tinkle! (that kid really does have a strong bladder since I had been giving her plenty of liquids to help the situation along). Her face was priceless. At first she looked a bit bewildered and scared of what was happening, and then she looked at me to see what my reaction would be. I had a huge grin on my face and started cheering and praising her profusely! Everyone in the house joined in and my Nicola just beamed and indicated that we could pick it up a notch even. So sweet…I’m glad I got to make her first toilet experience a great one. After that it went a lot quicker (for which my bum is grateful, bathroom tiles are cold).

And on Monday they started at school and Nicola did just great there too. We’ve had one slight setback though in the form of a school-wide tummy bug, so she’s on pull-ups for the time being, but I don’t think it’s going badly at all so far. Once that settles down again we’ll be back on Bambi bloomers.

Nicola, has also cottoned on to the fact that saying “Toilet piepie mamma, bliefie” is a good get out of sleep-time pass as any. Very sneaky! 😆 Of course she wants to do nothing of the sorts, she just wants to run around and not sleep – but we’re working on that.

And that, my dears…is all I have for you today. Hope you are all having a brilliant week so far!

5 comments

  1. The cuteness is too much!

    I’m watching and learning from you – btw I saw a post yesterday on potty training and I’ve forgotten where I saw it. Oy, but it made sense to me and I’m sure you would have liked it too.


  2. Thanks for the link you sent me. I’m sure some of those tips will come in very handy.


  3. Awesome!!! Awesome!!


  4. I just started on the first phase of potty training. Any advise?


  5. Thanks Angel!

    Scared Mom, just take it easy and follow your gut…and get ready for loads of washing. 😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

