h1

Sun-Jar!

8 September , 2011

I’m too lazy to go find the link for you now, but if you Google “How to make a sun jar” you should be able to find it on your own.

I decided to make this as a birthday present for K, my brother’s girlfriend, and if it worked well enough maybe I’d make a few more for gifts for other people.

Let me just start off by saying that the solar garden light you need to take apart to build this, is not specifically designed to make that process easy. If you, on top of that, don’t actually have the right tools to force finesse it so, it becomes even more interesting. 😉

Lucky for me while I still trying to figure out exactly how to do it, my Sparrow phoned to say he was in hospital, and the worry about if he was okay gave me the push I needed to do this armed with nothing more than some bonsai pruning shears, a bread knife and a pair of kitchen scissors!

201109022993This is what it looks like during the day. The solar panel for recharging sits in the lid of the jar and it needs direct sunlight to charge the battery.

201109022995And this is what it looks like at night! 😀

You can get different kinds of effects if you use the sandblast effect glass spray on the bottle or tracing paper (go look for the how to, that’s how most of them are made), and if you have a coloured lens on the LED.

I didn’t put a lens cover on so the light is blue-white instead of yellow and I filled the jar up with little glass cubes, so it looks like a jar of glowing ice.

I’m quite pleased with how that came out – you can oooh and aaah now… 😉

Ps! Sparrow is fine now, he tore his hamstring but it’s healing up quite nicely.

6 comments

  1. Brilliant idea!


  2. I think so too – wish i could say I was the one to come up with it. 😉

    It looks really nice, I don’t think my photo does it justice.


  3. That is bloody clever!! Think I’m going to have to remember this for Bradley’s school projects


  4. i thought so too, and it’s pretty too! 😀


  5. That’s a very cool gift!


  6. 😀 Thanks!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

