h1

My vegetable garden in containers

6 September , 2011

201109012970 201109012972

The seeds arrived on spring day, is there ever a more perfect time to get started? 😀

201109012971Containers *check* potting soil *check* dowel sticks for climbers *check* watering can *check* seeds *check* boat loads of enthusiasm *CHECK*

201109012973 201109012983

I had a very eager little helper when we started getting everything ready. I’m not sure if she got the point straight away though because she kept digging out the soil and trying to feed it to the birds, or put it back in the bag…but eventually we got there, and she loved very minute. She was chattering to herself and to me a mile a minute the whole time, so cute!

201109012985 It’s hard work this gardening business. After a nice hot bath she fell into a deep well deserved sleep.

201109022991And…there they are…ta-dah! Now we wait – the hardest part of all really. From left to right what you see is the beginnings of lettuce, onions, tomato, beans, peas, squash, cucumber, sweet pepper and carrots.

I wonder who will be first to show their little faces? From all accounts tomato grows like weeds and no one should be able to mess that up. Google reckons it could take anything from 5 to 10 days to see something sprouting from a tomato seed.

We are on day 4 now…it could happen literally any minute now!

12 comments

  1. Your veggie pots look really great and I am sure they will come out soon, Looking forward to seeing them… Oh and that last picture of Nicola is just so cute.


  2. Poor lamb, she was so exhausted after all the planting and carrying on…but we both really enjoyed it. Trust me, as soon as something pokes out from the soil it’s getting photographed and posted extensively! 😀


  3. I am sure yu are going to love this! A great idea.


  4. Thanks cat! I am super excited about it.

    Initially i was just going to have my veggie garden at my folks’ place but my dad says no space…so I did a bit of googling and discovered that a lot of people just do it in containers. You would be amazed at the crops people get from a small bucket of dirt with a few seeds in it.

    Actually I might just show you a couple – hold that thought…


  5. Awww… love that last pic of Nicola.

    Hope you get oodles of veggies soon!


  6. Thank you! Me too – right now I’d be out of my skin to just see something come up so long. 😉


  7. SOOOO cool 🙂 I am so desperate to start mine!

    They actually start popping through alot sooner than you think!


  8. I can’t wait Laura, they are the watched kettle that never boils at the moment! 🙂


  9. I am SOOOOO inspired by this. Am absolutely going to do this too. Go you!


  10. Yay! I’m glad that you found it inspriring. Go for it, it’s load of fun!


  11. You are so organised!


  12. Hahaha, thank you! I try. 😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

