h1

Colour me sleepy

13 July , 2011

Nicola is not sleeping properly (again), and she has a stuffy nose (probably why she’s not sleeping well). This means that I am not sleeping either.

I’m really tired. I’m so tired that I don’t want to sit still for too long or blink my eyes because I’m afraid I won’t feel like opening them up again. Someone at work actually told me that I look pale today…it’s a novel experience for me. I don’t get accused of being pale very often as you can imagine. I always thought I’d go grey rather than pale – but apparently that’s not the case. 🙂

As you can imagine, on little to no sleep I have a shorter than usual fuse. As you can also imagine, on not feeling well and not sleeping either, Nicola performs more than usual… I am going to put a concerted effort in at being more patient (and also at getting more sleep!).

You’d think that at some point your body will just get conditioned into a state where it realises that this is the new “normal” and get on with it? You’re probably as tired of seeing me whine about no sleep as I am about not getting any, so I’ll be quiet about that now. How about I just tell you when I’ve had a really awesome night’s rest, since it’s bound to be the highlight of any week for me?

For my next trick I will attempt to not only stay awake at my desk for the rest of the day – but to also look like I might be productively busy with something (that I reckon would deserve a round of applause).

PS! On a completely unrelated side-note, SteamCleaner has a cyst under her eyelid! I would very much like to NEVER experience that. It sounds rather unpleasant. She’s been complaining to me for weeks now that it feels like she has something in her eye, and as it turns out she was right (go figure). As part of the corrective measures she has to take to get cured, she now has to massage her eyelid with the back of a heated teaspoon three times a day until the sucker bursts (she won’t let me take photos).

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever had to go through medically?

6 comments

  1. Eish! I guess I’m really, really lucky that James is an excellent sleeper…

    Dunno if this really counts as *medical*, but I reckon the strangest thing I’ve had to deal with was birthing a breech baby.
    Or maybe it was having a plaster cast on my nose for 3 weeks after my brother broke it when I was 15. It was a really bad break – my whole nose was shifted like 2cm to the right, hence the need for a cast to help it set in its proper place once they’d moved it back…


  2. Both of those seem pretty out of the ordinary to me…how exactly did your brother break your nose so badly?


  3. OMG that cyst thing is just so gross…
    I do hope you’ve been able to get some sleep!


  4. Not really, no. We’re in the middle of another bout of flu – so sleep has been little and what there is pretty restless.


  5. Ewwwww… that’s gross. Why would you WANT to take pics? Poor woman. Sounds awful.


  6. The pics would be more around the creative spoon usage, not the actual cyst. You can’t even see it from the outside – it’s completely under the eye lid. (also I don’t gross out easily?)

    I don’t think that’s something you get to see everyday. 😉



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

