h1

We live to fight another battle

27 June , 2011

So, I’m not going to bore you with aaaaall the gory details, but last week had some more health issues in store for us.

Some very brief highlights:

  • After two days of reacting very well to the homeopathic meds Nicola had a little relapse
  • I had my eyes checked because I was suffering from the headache that wouldn’t die. I am now getting my first pair of reading glasses in a week or so. Not a strong prescription, but this is sort of a big deal to me anyway. Apparently I now have what is known as an astigmatism in my left eye. I tried on thousands of frames, and managed to haggle my way out of a R1600 co-payment. Not altogether unpleasant. I suppose I will have to start carrying a handbag now to keep my glasses in?
  • I was diagnosed with bloody swine flu, and I still feel crap.
  • We’ve been camping out at my parents’ place while we’re sick, and now my mom is also ill.

Anyway, that was last week. This is this week. I’m hoping to be back at work and feeling human again in a day or so.

In the meantime, here are some more Nicola pics. 🙂

201106042196 Mickey Mouse boat. Nicola loves this boat and somehow has also come to associate it with Noah and the ark. 😆

201106052201 It’s almost impossible to keep shoes and socks on Nicola now that she’s learnt how to take them off herself.

201106062221Playing with rocks and pebbles outside.

201106062222  I just love this photo… Often when I’m busy dressing Nicola I tell her they are MY toes and I’m going to eat them up. She always giggles at me, but lately she now tried to nibble them herself to see if I know something that she doesn’t.

Anyhoo, here’s hoping that this week will be a healthier one.

8 comments

  1. Good heavens girl – you need a break. Hope you are both better soon.


  2. You definitely need a break – and a good dose of self-care.

    I’ve been wearing specs (normal ones) since I was 12 but you read about my kids breaking my specs on Thursday, right? hmmm.

    I hate it when they take off their socks and shoes. Hate it! I’m so tempted to say, “well then walk with bare feet, see if I care” but I do – I soooo don’t want sick kids.


  3. OMw didn’t realise you had swine flu too!
    Glad you’re feeling better


  4. cat, thanks. 🙂

    Marcia, I’m still getting my head around the specs business. I’ve never had problems with my eyes before, my thing has always been ears. 😉 When Nicola ditches her shoes I usually give her a few minutes of freedom before I put them on again.

    Jenty, thank you. 🙂


  5. Oh my word lady! you’ve really had a bad week behind you:/ Glad to hear that you’re starting to feel better, and I hope both of you will recover significantly in the next week.
    Having the specs is going to be quite a change! Good luck!


  6. Ruby, thanks hun…it’s been quite a ride! 😉


  7. I can’t blame her, I like being barefoot too!


  8. Angel, me too – unless it’s cold, then i can live with at least socks.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

