h1

Peachy

22 June , 2011

I am happy to report that Nicola seems to be responding really well to the homeopathic treatments. She’s eating again. She’s sleeping again. She’s coughing a lot less, and she looks like she has a lot more energy – which she doesn’t use for tantrums (well mostly not).Β  πŸ˜‰

I am extremely happy about this andΒ I hope that the improvement continues so that she can be healthy and happy all the time.

Sorry, I haven’t taken a picture yet – but I can tell you what we got:

  • One-a-day chew tablet uber-probiotic
  • One-a-day chew tablet anti-allergenic-thingy
  • Three-times-a-day lymp cleaning drops
  • Three-times-a-day immune boosting drops
  • Three-times-a-day cough powder
  • Three-times-a-day cold and flu powder

The powders are only for now, the other stuff she has to use for at least three months. It looks like a little chemistry set of meds on the counter where I keep these!

If you’re wondering how I get her to take them, let me explain: The tablets I give her and I tell her it’s sweets. If she doesn’t take them immediately I tell her it’s mine and to leave it alone and leave it somewhere she can reach them. It hasn’t failed yet. πŸ˜‰ The powders and drops I dissolve in a bit of cranberry juice and put in a coffee mug. She downs it and then tells me, “Coffee! Mmmmm-mmmm”. Misleading? Yes. Effective? Also yes. I’ve tasted everything and none of it tastes bad – so I’m guessing it should be okay.

Apologies for being a bit slack on the commenting, my fellow bloggers. I have about a hundred posts waiting for my attention in the reader. I promise I read everything as you write it (usually on my phone when I’m stuck in traffic) but I can’t comment until I clock some laptop time – and at the moment that time I spend catching up on sleep. If this current good trend continues I should be able to catch up with everything and everyone by the end of the weekend.

Now for some Nicola photos. These are all more or less before we went silent last week, more will be coming soon.

Nicola, playing with a monkey toy she has. Monkeys are featuring big time at the moment by the way. We have a copy of Space Chimps on the hard drive and she has completely fallen in love with it! I’m not exagerating whenΒ I say I’ve seen that movie probably a hundred times or more in the last week. (She can’t say movie – she calls it the “Apie Momee”). There’s no negotiating with my kid either. When she wants to see the monkeys, she WANTS to see the monkeys. At least I have my favourite bit too, so I skip ahead to that sometimes. Between minute 40 – 50 isn’t too bad if you ever get in the same situation.

We have a colouring book. It is all kinds of awesome. I only give Nicola a couple of colours at a time to play with or she runs riot with them colouring in walls and what-not. But she’s doing very well. I think at the moment she gets more of a kick identifying the pictures than trying to colour them. She’s also trying very hard to write her name on everything, a tall order for someone who can’t properly say the word yet! I’ve had to stop calling her by the nickname I have for her, which is Muis (mouse) because I was concerned that she might end up thinking that was her real name. The kids in her class, who are all also still learning to talk properly call her Cola (they just drop the Ni at the start), she’s happy to say Nico, or Cowah but getting het to put them together into a Nicola, not so easy. She started saying “L” last week – so any day now I’m sure. πŸ™‚

Still very much fascinated with rocks, any size shape or colour. However, since she’s figured out it bugs me when she tries to eat them – the smaller ones are not so very safe anymore.

8 comments

  1. So glad that she is responding to the meds. Funny actually, but I also took Zani to a homeopath yesterday. Was also just fed up with the whole constant illness thing.

    Good luck!


  2. Glad it’s going well.


  3. So glad she’s better! I love the monkey business πŸ™‚ I loved a monkey theme for parties that I saw somewhere (email me if you want the link) but my kids were not into them at all. I then decided on another theme and on a whim, bought them two monkeys at ToysRUs and NOW they love monkeys! I’m hoping this stays til next year πŸ™‚ what are the chances…


  4. One step forward, two steps back – today she’s sick again all over. 😦
    Something tells me it’s going to be a loooong three months.

    Christelle, hope it’s working well for you?

    cat, we’re hanging in there.

    Marcia, at the moment Nicola is very much into monkeys and mickey mouse. We picked the mouse for our next party theme. πŸ˜‰


  5. Glad she is better. I believe firmly in homeopathy – they saved both Cameron and I when he was a baby.

    hahaha at Space Chimps – my kids still watch the same thing over and over – more Kiara though.


  6. I am SO glad things are improving on the health front! That’s wonderful news!


  7. So glad shes better πŸ™‚

    Just want to let you know that I nominated you for a blog award
    http://tan32.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/299/
    T


  8. Laura, I’ve managed to kind of sell her on Bolt too. So I get monkeys with the occasion break of monkeys in puppies. Could have been worse – she could have liked teletubbies?

    Angel, I’m very grateful that Nicola is on the mend. Just as I thought we were finally getting over the sickies I got swine flu last week. I’m just very grateful that she didn’t get that too!

    tan32, thank you! πŸ˜€



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

