h1

*crickets* (and other noises one might hear in absolute quiet)

7 June , 2011

It’s been a bit quiet round here lately, hasn’t it? (Maybe not by all known standards but since I now usually have a week’s worth of posts scheduled ahead it feel like a lot longer than it actually has been).

This past week has been a hairy one. Nicola got very sick…first some bronchitus-pnemonia business, coupled with a bit of of pink eyes, and then just as we thought she was getting better there was a HECTIC case of gastro (which also hit every other person in the house at the same time – not pretty).

To say that I have had my hands full would be understatement.

I’m almost scared to say it out loud and tempt fate, but I think we might, just maybe, be over the worst of it now. And if there is any sort of quota for this thing we should have no further hassles for most of the winter *keeps fingers crossed*

I am tired. Really really tired.

I have some posts plotting which I will hopefully get round to scheduling tonight, so hang in there people of the computer who get a kick out of our everyday going-ons. Normal transmission will resume shortly.

Lessons learnt and decisions made during this last week:

  • Raisins are no longer welcome in my house and by my hand my child will never see another raisin…don’t ask me why, just know that I mean it.
  • Having no time or energy to post or sleep leads to a lot of soul searching time while the rest of you goes onto a sort of autopilot. Some of the things will make perfect sense even after you have some sleep again, others not so much.
9 comments

  1. Now I want to hear the raisins story πŸ™‚

    Please soul-search on the blog – I want to hear more!


  2. Gosh, I really hope you will all be in a bit better space soon.


  3. Shame it really soungs like a hectic few days. I hope that all is over now and that better days are ahead. I will be sending lots of positive energy and hugs and kisses to your little one.


  4. Marcia, only because you asked (and I want you to remember that!) πŸ˜†
    Raisins, in the normal course of business will spend enough time in a person to be digested properly and to impart some sort of nutrition upon the eater in the process. However, when “one” comes down with a sudden case of unexpected gastro – that is NOT the case. They turn into little bullets that go straight through within hours (causing a helluva lot of pain in the process). Many many tears were shed over raisins this week. That’s why.

    As for the soul searching, I most certainly will…probably in bits and pieces…some might end up behind a password. πŸ˜‰

    cat & gaby, thank you! I really appreciate that.


  5. Hectic, Louisa! What a crappy (no pun intended) few days 😦 Hope you all recover soonest and that things settle down again. Poor thing!


  6. Thanks Tamara…crappy indeed! πŸ˜‰


  7. Please share the raisen story i so want to hear that…


  8. Hey Scared Mom, I answered in one of the comments already but here goes again: πŸ˜‰ Raisins, in the normal course of business will spend enough time in a person to be digested properly and to impart some sort of nutrition upon the eater in the process. However, when β€œone” comes down with a sudden case of unexpected gastro – that is NOT the case. They turn into little bullets that go straight through within hours (causing a helluva lot of pain in the process). Many many tears were shed over raisins this week. That’s why.

    I just felt so sorry for her and there was nothing I could do about it.


  9. Oh I hope you’re all all better now!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

