h1

Photo Post – Ray of Sunshine!

2 April , 2011

201103221188

Look who’s been face painted at school.
201103241195-001 201103241197-001

This week we got the school photos taken last week, and they are too cute! It also reminded me that I’ve been meaning to talk about baby contests for a while now, but every time I think about it the post is already a million miles long and I end up leaving it for next time.

Quite a few people have asked me why I have never entered Nicola in any baby contests. I always say I’ve just not gotten round to it, but it’s not completely true. I actually start feeling a bit uneasy when the subject comes up. In essence I don’t have a problem with baby contests and other people entering their offspring, but I just don’t want to enter my little girl. I don’t think that she needs to compete that way, and let’s face it – she is beautiful! I don’t need someone else to tell me that. She will always be the most beautiful girl in the world to me. Is it a skill to be gorgeous? Does it deserve a prize? Will she use it to promote world peace? Maybe, who knows. When she’s a bit older she can choose for herself if she wants to compete in beauty pageants, while I’m driving we’ll be focusing on other things…like getting dirty and playing. Kiddy things. Because that is what she is, a kid.

Anyway, aren’t these just the most adorable school photos? All of these came in colour too but I shared with Oupa, two Oumas and an Uncle – and ordered myself some new ones in the sizes I want.

201103241199

When you see this little ray of sunshine running towards you with that face – get ready to catch! She usually launches herself the last few steps.

201103251204

The fascination with Barney continues.

10 comments

  1. Those are very cool πŸ™‚

    And I do kinda agree with your take on baby comps!!


  2. I agree totally! Totally!

    While under my roof, and all that jazz…Also, I’d much rather they focus on being clever or funny or something else πŸ™‚

    I already think my kids have a lot to contend with having me (driven and demanding) as their mother πŸ™‚


  3. Laura, thank you! πŸ™‚

    Marcia, I’m sure it’s no hardship whatsoever having you as a mom. You seem to have it all figured out!


  4. Your daughter is stunning. and good for you to leave the competions up to her to decide.
    Both my kids are enrolled at an agency, Amandalynn i enrolled because she wanted to(she is 4) and Lorelai I enrolled because “if you do one you can just as well do both”. i have kind of prevented them from getting casting calls as i have not sent in the tax details (still need to apply).

    FYI love your blog


  5. All the snaps are looks very pretty and child is very beautiful. But explain us why you think that the competition is not good for child. It encourage the child.


  6. Scaredmom, thank you! πŸ˜€ When Nicola is a bit older she can choose for herself, like your daughter did.

    Barcode, thank you. πŸ™‚ I don’t think at this age that it is good for her. When she’s older, she can choose for herself if she wants to compete. At this stage I don’t believe that she really understands competition at all.


  7. I’m anti comps too, but I have a friend whose kid was featured as a baby model in an Ackermans catalogue and loved it. That doesn’t seem so bad as a once off. It made mom super proud too.

    LOVE the sepia pics of Nicola. Love, love, LOVE!


  8. Tamara, I like that one with the hat most. Such a cutie!


  9. She is just too cute for words! And those are the coolest school photos!


  10. Thank you Angel. πŸ™‚



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

