h1

Another one bites the dust

14 March , 2011

This week has more or less been a continuance from last week’s feeling crap! It got to the point where we slept at my parents’ place on Monday and Tuesday because I was too ill to look after Nicola by myself. I briefly popped my head into work on Thursday to do some reporting, and then when straight back to the doctor for more meds.

Except for the fact that I didn’t have any Benylin, I’d say I more or less took a Benylin-week.

I’m feeling much better now, thanks for asking. πŸ˜‰ Not a lot of photos this week – but here are a few:

201103081041
Nicola helping my mom cook.

201103081044
Snooze time…

201103091055
Helping out in the kitchen again.

201103091058
Not afraid of Diablo at all, even though he’s a lot bigger than she is.
(She was trying to feed him a rock).

201103101064
Have I mentioned that I really don’t like taking medicine? Well I don’t. Check
out just my breakfast meds over the last week. (The hot chocolate is only
optional if you’re not me).

201103101067
Back at home again, after bath time and we’re getting ready for bed.

201103111070
I think I may have to invest in some smaller plastic cups?

201103111074
Friday after school I treated my daughter to a Nesquick Ice cream (had to have one myself too to make sure it was okay of course). She loved it! It was messy but fun and we needed a bit of that after the week we’ve had.

201103121075
Nicola looking very pleased with herself after she made me put her on one of the big chairs.

201103121076
Nicola has both of her grandparents firmly wrapped around her pinky. This is the before shot by the way. We joined my folks for a quick bite to eat at Wimpy and Nicola went to town on my mom’s fruit yogurt shake thingamajiggy. At some point I was laughing so hard I almost couldn’t breathe. Nicola had the long spoon and straw and most of herself covered in yogurt and each of my parents had about two hands full of yogurt too while trying to keep her cleanish and help her get some in her mouth. Me?…Well, I was laughing and taking photos of course. πŸ˜‰ (Oh, by the way – I have no idea why Nicola digs Barney so much. We don’t even own a TV so theoretically she has no idea who he is, but she was hanging onto β€œbaba” for dear life!).

201103121081
One of the after shots.

201103121083 201103121085
New boots, made for walking and all that. She wanted to do it this way – sans pants.

And yesterday even though I did not have the presence of mind to take even one single photo we had the most action packed day of the whole week. Firstly I got Martha in to come iron again. Nicola was throwing a little tantrum about taking meds or having her hair combed or nappy changed or some such thing. I smacked my hands together and said “Stop it!” next thing Martha comes flying into the bathroom to tell me that I mustn’t hit Nicola or she’ll tell my mom. I wasn’t even giving her a hiding, but it made me feel like the naughty child! πŸ˜† It was a little bit surprising actually. Neither the clapping of hands or subsequent attempted rescue by Martha put a stop to the tantrum anyway, just so you know. I still have not found the winning combo for that – is there even such a thing, or does it all come down to waiting it out?

Round about lunch time Martha was finished and we dropped her off at home
and picked up my cousin M to come see our place. I had a lovely time catching up with her – we hardly ever get a chance to just sit and talk anymore these days.

Later on we all went through to my parents’ place. My brother and his GF made waffles for everyone and Nicola entertained the masses as usual. πŸ˜‰

3 comments

  1. I do hope you feeling so much better.


  2. Wenchy, I am thank you – still have the wet nose and the cough though, but at least the fevers are gone.


  3. Aaahh waffles…



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

