h1

No idea what to call this post

8 February , 2011

So we’re all settled in at our new place. There is one utter chaos spot still left which is the bookshelf – it’s on my to-do list for this week, and it will stay on there until it looks mostly organised!

On the weekend I had to go exchange the new microwave I bought us because it didn’t heat up at all and was really more of an elaborate kitchen clock. The new one works like a charm thank goodness. I actually expected a bit of a song and dance at Game since I bought it about two weeks ago, but they surprised me pleasantly by just doing exactly what I wanted. Excellent! πŸ™‚ We even unpacked the new one in the store and tested it right there before I took it home again.

On Saturday my parents and my brother and his girlfriend came over for a little impromptu braai at my place – which turned out really lovely. I think we should do some family activity at least once a week so every one can catch up and get a good visit in. This coming weekend for instance we all plan to pop into the Chinese New Year’s Festival at Brightwater Commons to see the show and maybe grab a bite to eat. I’m hoping Nicola will enjoy the lion and dragon dancing and the lights and noise and not be freaked out by it – but we’ll see.

event_chinese_new
I haven’t taken loads of pictures this week – but here are a few anyway.

20110203798

Look at my eager little helper. I left a pile of ironing out and Nicola redistributed them all over the place. At some point she randomly picked one and started wiping down the cupboards and floors. πŸ˜‰

20110204804

On Friday we took this home. They made jelly with jelly beans in at school. Looks a bit odd but it tasted pretty good actually. Can’t wait for my first picture that I can stick on the fridge. Toddler class rocks!

20110205806

That last eye tooth is really not playing nice. Our teeth count at the moment is 15, waiting for number 16 to cut. Angel has asked about the teething necklace and how we’re finding it: quite honestly it’s amazing. In the past when Nicola was teething we often ended up at the doctor or ER with fevers over 40’C…and since we’ve tried the beads she hasn’t even had one single fever even though she’s already cut at least 3 teeth while wearing it! This thing is never coming off, in fact i will have to get her a bigger one for when she gets her wisdom teeth I think. I don’t know how it works, and I don’t care, it does. And it’s definitely not placebo since Nicola doesn’t know she’s meant to believe in them for it to work. Best R160 I ever spent quite honestly.

20110205808

Nothing plays as nice as other people’s toys, right? Even better when they make a racket. We had a lovely breakfast and Nicola surprised me by eating quite a bit of scrambled egg with me. Usually if I point an egg in her direction she turns into a little windmill of arms and head shaking to avoid it. Maybe she’s growing into it?

20110205810

It was a champagne breakfast of course. Doesn’t that just look downright festive? πŸ˜‰

20110205816

We gave Nicola a bowl with water and a cup to play with while we had the braai…just easier keeping little fingers out of the fire when there’s something else to distract them. She had such a good time dumping it all over her, and she drank plenty of it too. The whole drinking from a glass thing is still pretty novel so if she gets a chance to do it she keeps on drinking loooong after she’s no longer thirsty just for the fun of it. And don’t think you can just put a stop to it either without running into a quality tantrum.

20110206817

Looks who’s no longer intimidated by Marie-Biscuit the rocking horse. One of these days she’s going to figure out how to mount the beast herself I think.

20110207818

Pretty highveld thunder storm coming right up. I love thunder and lightning….love, love, love it! Once Nicola is a bit older I hope that she’ll enjoy walking in the rain as much as I do. Right now she’s still a bit too tiny for that though…but at least she doesn’t look overly concerned with storms.

20110207819

Fooling around on the lawn.

20110208822

This is what it looks like when you don’t believe everything you read. πŸ˜›

And here are some photos of Nicola taken by our landlord’s son Pasja with his brand new camera. Aren’t they great? πŸ˜€

DSCF7012 DSCF7013

DSCF7014 DSCF7023

DSCF7024 DSCF7026

DSCF7034 DSCF7038

Isn’t it amazing to see how many different expressions she can whip out in a few minutes…I think the last 4 are my favourites. πŸ˜€

14 comments

  1. Wow, those photo’s of Nicola are lovely πŸ™‚ And they show off her gorgeous curls so nicely !!


  2. Love those photos of Nicola!
    Ooh maybe I should go to the Chinese thing considering my photoshoot has been cancelled.


  3. So cute! I’m glad you’re all settled in.
    I have ordered a set of teething beads for my sister!


  4. I was hoping to see the Chinese New Year celebrations this year, but I’ll be baking up a storm all weekend instead!


  5. Phillygirl, I love them. I am definitely going to have to print out a few of these.

    Jeanette, I hope you can…it sounds like it’s going to be a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

    Angel, you won’t be sorry, I promise! πŸ˜€ Shame – don’t work too hard hun.


  6. She is SUCH a gorgeous little girl with those curls! Jealous πŸ™‚

    Glad you’re settled in and that Game played the game. Hahaha

    (I have really bad relationships with Game and Checkers – I always say never again until I forget why I said it and there I am again)


  7. you baby is beautiful


  8. Thank you! πŸ˜€


  9. Glad to see you are settling in so well. Great photos of the princess.


  10. Nicola is growing up so beautifully. She has FIFTEEN TEETH?! Babyice only has 4 and they weren’t born that far apart! Sometimes I wish the bloody toofies would all come out at once!

    I also have the teething necklace, but have removed it since it seemed uncomfortable (it would “choke” him around his neck and have all the space at the back), but he doesn’t teeth very regularly. I suspect he is teething now again, so I think I’ll slip it on.

    Babyice LOVES water! He can also entertain himself with a bowl like that!

    The photos are gorgeous πŸ™‚


  11. Oh my goodness!!! She is gorgeous. πŸ™‚
    I love love thunder too…last night though, we had one extremely scary thunder / lightning storm.


  12. I adore the very last one:) it’s beautiful! And that breakfast was divine…so much of champagne…oh and of course the food was yum too:P


  13. That last photo is awesome. It’s kinda like “Yes, I’m super cute, but don’t you mess with me.” Nicola is very photogenic.

    Glad you’re all settled at the new place. You’ll have to let me know what you still need so I can make a housewarming visit with a present sometime πŸ˜‰


  14. cat, thank you! πŸ™‚

    acidicice, yep – Nicola is blazing through this teething thing. On the one hand I’m glad that she’ll put it behind her soonish, but it’s really rough on her when she cuts 4 at the same time poor lamb.

    supermom, thank you! πŸ™‚

    Rubyletters, I like that one a lot too. So much attitude for such a little person huh? πŸ˜†

    Tamara, I actually have com across a few things that I don’t have, but seriously – it would just be great if you popped in, gift or not. (only things so far missing are a wine opener, braai tongs, and tupperware). πŸ˜‰ So when do I see you?



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

