h1

Is it Wednesday? Feels like Meh-day to me…

7 July , 2010

******Written at work*****

I woke up all cranky and crampy this morning, and quite frankly not in the mood for anything but a hot bath and some more bed time. I got neither for in case you were wondering. Since I am at the end of the bathroom queue these days an almost tepid bath is what I managed and then off to face the joy of Joburg peak hour traffic to the CBD.

Some stupid jackass decided that red was just a guideline at traffic lights and he wasn’t in the mood for guidelines…so I got some adrenaline pumping (pumping pretty weakly actually) when I got a refresher course in how to do an emergency stop without the aid of ABS braking…but I got to work in one piece, as did my car, so all’s well that ends well. Although if he could have heard the language coming from me he would have started taking the bus in future.

I realise also that I have now become an official featherweight when it comes to pain meds. With my inherent distrust of all medication the most I really go in for is the occasional panado (about as effective as tic tacs) – so this morning when I took two whopper pain killers from my mom they just about put me on my ass. Seriously, my face has gone numb – which is somewhat balanced out by the fact that my scalp is tingling…and this is probably about 4 hours AFTER I had the pills!

Nothing is looking more inviting than snoozing under my desk at this moment. I could probably go home if I wanted to, but honestly I think I’d get more rest under my desk.

Nuff said…

*****Written at home*****

Well…when I got home I was greeted by one seriously tired and cranky baby girl. Nicola apparently put up quit a brave fight against naps and bananas and being put down in general today.

So first thing first we have a bit of mommy and Nicola cuddle time which was cool. Then I attempt to feed her butternut. Let me tell you, she was having NONE of that.

Okaywellnofine, I was not in a mood to pit strength of wills against my 6,5 month old on the issue so I decided to bribe her with some cereal (which she ALWAYS loves). Poor kid. Two bites into it she was falling asleep after every mouthful. So instead of our usual dinner time, bath time routine I let her have a little power nap.

I was happily joining her in that but everything conspired against me. First thing Sparrow phoned me to shoot the breeze (must be bored at work?), next thing my brother shows up to fetch his mail, and then lastly my mom phones to find out if Sparrow is eating at home.

No nap for the not-so-wicked…

After her nap, and subsequent bath Nicola seemed very very tired but less than keen to actually fall asleep. I put my iTunes on random and begun the long walk/dance to get her settled.

Eventually she fell asleep to Breaking Benjamin…go figure.

I’m about ready for take two on that power nap for myself to be honest.

This might seem like a pointless whining ramble to you, but hey! at least we’re talking, right? πŸ˜‰

Hope your day was more kick ass than mine.

10 comments

  1. Shame lady:/ sounds not so awesome on any scale! Glad you made it to work and home safely despite the stupid drivers and the painkillers. *hugs*


  2. I’m lots of miss cranky pant at the moment


  3. Hope you had a great night’s rest and that today is much better πŸ™‚


  4. Rubyletters, thanks hun! πŸ™‚ I’m all better today thanks – amazing what a good night’s rest will do.

    Wenchy, I don’t believe that for a second!

    Alet, it is – thank you. πŸ˜€


  5. Oh my, those days can be tough beyond words. Hope today is way better.


  6. cat, muuuuuch better thank you. πŸ™‚


  7. I had a real meh day today too but i think your meh day wins. Yeuch. Ready for Friday yet? Me too.


  8. Po…I am more than ready for Friday! πŸ™‚ Not so keen on this Saturday though – something tells me it will be filled with laundry and furniture moving.


  9. Its a blog post- which is more than I have managed lately!!


  10. Angel, I’m amazed that you even manage to come comment with all the balls that you have in the air at the moment hun. πŸ˜‰



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

