h1

Tradition

19 March , 2010

We have (what I now understand to be a peculiar) tradition in our family. on someone’s birthday we sing them awake at 05:00 with Happy Birthday and give them their gifts.

So on Thursday, road trip or no road trip, it was my mom’s birthday and at 05:00 there was singing. Never mind that we were all up at 04:00 already. At 05:00 we sing.

My mom got sung to many times during the day. First us at home, then by the other car in our convoy down to the coast and then quite loudly and enthusiastically (with balloon popping and what not) at one of the one-stops on the way by the staff too!

Mom, I hope you did have a happy birthday…I’m sorry you had to spend it driving down to your brother’s funeral.

4 comments

  1. Happy Birthday to your mom. My poor MIL’s beloved BIL passed away on her birthday last year.


  2. Happy belated to Louisa’s mom. Sorry it was a sad time, but hope that the year ahead holds many happy memories to be made.


  3. I am sure your mom appreciated your love.


  4. I love special birthday traditions!



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

