h1

A couple of firsts…

28 February , 2010

This morning I prettied up my baby girl and myself and off we went to church. It was our first time since Nicola arrived and I was not a little bit nervous about what kind of reception we’d get once we got there.

It turns out that all my worrying was for nothing though. All everyone said was how happy they were to see us and what a beautiful baby she was, and about half a dozen tannies clucked on lyrical about her lovely mop of hair. 😀

I even managed to have a chat with our preacher. He came over to say hi and asked whose baby this was. I told him she was mine. He next asked me if I had gotten married since he last saw me and I said no. He chuckled and said that with my unorthodox personality he wasn’t all that surprised but that he thought I made the right ethical decision (I assume in keeping her and not going for an abortion) and then got down to the business of nailing down a date to christen her. This is what I like about this man – he may use big words but he never beats around the bush. 😉

I’m quite relieved that it was so easy and painless. I really do want to have her christened and I wasn’t sure if they’d let me – one way or another it was going to happen – even if I had to move churches to do it. I feel a bit silly for putting it off so long, because it felt good to be there again and there’s no doubt in my mind that both Nicola and I are welcome there. 🙂

Tomorrow will be another big day for us…tomorrow is my baby’s first day at school! I know people say they grow up so quickly but this is ridiculous!

I am quite heart-sore about having to leave her with someone else so soon, but i owe I owe so off to work I go, hey? I’m trying to focus on the fact that this will be a good move for her. She’s going to make loads of friends and all the play and activities they have there is going to be much more stimulating than staring into my eyes all day long, and I know they’ll take really good care of her…but I wish I could stay home and cuddle with her all day for a bit longer. *sniff*

She has to be there bright and early tomorrow morning. I’m taking her in at 7:00 and then I need to drive like a bat out of hell to try and hit my office in the CBD at 8:00. Joburg drivers beware – do not mess with me tomorrow, I will be in no mood for “antics” after my traumatic start to the day.

11 comments

  1. I am so glad you were welcomed at your church. That is most proper…. good luck for tomorrow my dear friend… I know how hard this is… I left Liam when he was 11 weeks old and my heart was shattered… but it gets better and soon you will be in a new routine and all will be well.


  2. It was great seeing you this morning! Good luck for tomorrow, I’ll be thinking of you!!


  3. Will be thinking about you tomorrow! It’s the worst thing ever!
    Glad the christening is being planned, and that the church is friends with you 🙂


  4. Oh I remember leaving my princess and going to work – it’s tough.

    I am so glad the church welcomed you back – it’s the way it should be.


  5. 🙂

    I’m glad going back to church went well. Sounds like your preacher dude is a sensible man…

    Strongs for the back to work spiel – it’s hard enough when baba is a good few months old, so I can only imagine how hard it is for you with such a tiny Nicola!

    *hugs*


  6. Its always crappy to leave baby for the first time…
    As for church, I was a pregnant teenager in my church, and once it was out in the open I was more than accepted! Damien had so many knitted jerseys and booties from the ladies at the church it was quite incredible! And we were there for several years afterwards. Thank heavens I never felt as if I was being looked down on.


  7. Wenchy, thanks! The first day was rough…really really rough. I cried after dropping her off and when I fetched her. Yesterday was already much easier on both of us so I think we’re on the right track.

    Wanette, thank you it was good seeing you again too.

    Jeanette, thank you – I am also relieved that that ball has started rolling. 😉

    cat, I am very happy about the church welcoming us both. 😀

    MeeA, the lady at the school is such a darling about the whole thing. Nicola is too small to join their regular baby class. So for the first two weeks she is looking after her herself in the office – how sweet is that?! I’m just glad that she seems to be settling into it nicely, it would be much harder to leave her there if she hated it.

    Angel, I’m glad that they gave you their support when you needed it. 🙂


  8. Wonderful that you felt so welcome back at church. I remember when I wanted to Christen Joshua the church refused so I moved on to another, and they were only to happy to accommodate me:)


  9. I’m so glad you were welcomed back at church – it’s really the right thing for Christians to love and support rather than judge!

    Hoping the week 1 is better than you expected!


  10. So glad to hear the church welcomed you back otherwise I would’ve suggested to go to another. I hate judgmental people! Loved reading your blog


  11. Fairu Girl, I was a little afraid that we would face that kind of situation but luckily it was exactly the opposite. 😀

    Alet, thank you – except for Monday it really wasn’t too traumatic.

    HT, thank you! Hope you come back again soon… 🙂



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

