h1

I can’t get no sleep

6 January , 2010

I know you’re already aware of this, but I thought I’d just throw it out there again. 😉

I am beyond tired now…way beyond. Nicola sleeps all day and cries all night. And yes, please tell me again that I should try and sleep when she sleeps – it’s not like no one else has tried to tell me that before. Don’t you think if I could do that I would? Nuff said.

So on the constipation front (I’ll give you a minute to think about what kind of front that might be), there have been the following developments. (I’m not writing about it for my own entertainment by the way – I am merely mentioning it for in case someone else is having the same problem and want to know what cracks it for us eventually). Where was I? Oh right, developments:

  • The telament drops and tissue salts are cool for cramps, but don’t seem to do anything for the constipation. Maybe it works on other kids and mine is just to stubborn – I don’t know. For Nicola it doesn’t sort out the constipation.
  • The glucose syrup from the pharmacy helps, but its so thick that I battle to get it in her without her choking on it. I tried diluting it with water which seemed to help somewhat.
  • Glycerine suppositories evacuated the whole situation within 30 minutes – however it didn’t really make it more comfortable for her from what I could tell.

This is the thing that finally cracked it for us:

  • Take a couple (5-10) prunes, add a little bit of water and boil for a few minutes till the water starts changing colour. Cool and drain the water off and give her just a few ml of that water once daily. I have one word for you: MUSH! 😀

She’s feeling a lot better now – thank goodness!

In the meantime I feel like I’ve been hot by a train. Is it possible for your whole body to start hurting from no sleep? If it is then that is what is happening to me right now.

And I’m having a smoke here and there again now, since I’m not breastfeeding or smoking in the house I’m okay with that. I haven’t decided finally if I will take it up again or not – but as Sparrow pointed out to me the other day, I have enough other shit to worry about at the moment without throwing smoking or not smoking in the mix too. So I guess I’m smoking while I think about it some more?

Right, hopefully my next post will be less about shit…(I think I should just throw out there while we’re on it that yesterday I got peed on, pood on and projectile vomited on and I still love her!). 😉

Today we will attempt to conquer home affairs and the baby clinic – who have both not given us much joy in the last week. I’ll tell you more about it when I get back. Hope you all have a kick-ass day!

11 comments

  1. Oi Louisa… I really don’t know what to say, seeing that I am not a mother… I think the longest I have baby sat was for two days… ever. So that is where my knowledge stops.

    I think however… that you need to take time out. You are not breastfeeding so you can leave her with your mom for let’s say two days? No ❓


  2. I hear you!!!! I also desperately need sleep, between Logan and Abigail I don’t have time to eat (probably a good thing for weight loss). It does get easier, I promise – usually around 6 weeks or so. Hang in there!


  3. (((HUGS))) hope she lets you rest soon


  4. It’s been scientifically proven that the human body can function longer without water and food than sleep. So YOU MUST SLEEP!!! Otherwise you shall go insane…. insaner. Very mad.


  5. Get a sitter and get some sleep then. You’ll feel much better afterwards.

    Good luck!


  6. Glad you found something that worked! It is unfortunately all about trial and error 🙂

    Good luck with your home affairs and clinic plans!


  7. I’m so broken when I don’t get enough sleep. It’s like night and day … especially when it adds up.


  8. lol, the telament and tissue salts weren’t for constipation – that was to help with winding and to prevent/alleviate colic.

    glad the prune juice worked. i have NO advice on how to correct the day/night reversal as i never had that problem, thankfully.

    only thing i can suggest is patience. everything comes right with a bit of time…


  9. Girl vdS,I don’t know if I’m ready to leave her alone with someone else for that long yet. I must say that my mom is a saint, and helps me out a lot with a couple of hours here and there so I can can stay somewhat sane.

    Fairy Girl, *hats off to you* I don’t know how you do it with two little angels. I’m on a Nicola diet myself, it seems every time something hot to eat comes my way her spidey senses go iff and she “rescues” me from the calories. 😉

    Jeanette, LOL thanks! 😀 Me too…

    Jacky, 😛 very mad indeed! Hehehe, I sometimes wonder if kids really learn to sleep through or do their parents just get too exhausted to wake up for their niggles after a while?

    Krista, my mom has offered to look after her on Friday for me. 🙂

    Laurakim, yip – and the more advice I get the clearer it becomes to me that what works on one kid doesn’t necessarily work on another.

    JD, I can run for about a week with no sleep – after that it gets a little bit crazy!

    ExMi, 😆 thanks, I’ll keep that in mind. Arkwife actually phoned in some advice on the day-night situation yesterday. Sometimes it helps to move their bath time round to establish a new routine. It sort-of works on Nicola too, I just have to find the right time-slot now.


  10. You sound so very normal Louisa, I am proud of you!
    😀


  11. Angel, 😆 thanks…glad someone is. Some days I don’t think I’m doing a damn thing right!(other days are a breeze though – but we never remember those do we?)



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

