h1

Road rage no more

15 January , 2009

Road rage: is anger or violent behaviour caused by someone else’s bad driving or the stress of being in heavy traffic. (defined here)

I used to be very in touch with my road rage. I usually drive alone, and on the odd occasion when I do have passengers in the car they always arrive safely where they’re meant to go, even though sometimes a little bit bewildered. But I’ve been working on it and apparently it’s under control now.

How do I know this? Well, today I was merrily making my way home in some of the finest bumper-to-bumper Joburg peak hour traffic known to mankind when this hooligan swerved in front of me…and then flipped me the bird?! In the past this kind of behaviour would have had me steaming out the ears and hanging halfway out my window giving him a piece of my mind (I project well, he’d feel like I was yelling at him from just above his left temple if I wanted to). But today when he did this I heard a little voice in my head, Anthony Robins’ Personal Power voice to be precise, saying : “That’s very interesting, I wonder what would make him do that.” I just had to laugh.

Here’s a picture of this bizarre bird-flipping creature and his steed. On behalf on the entire Gauteng province I would like to apologise for his behaviour if you came across him in a different part of the country – I doubt he could have been much more behaved on holiday than he was in traffic today.

Sorry

21 comments

  1. Well done šŸ™‚

    I am so glad I dont really sit in traffic now – when I do have to do the JHB-PTA trip I take an extra happy pill!!


  2. Ha ha. I love that you published his number plate. Revenge is a dish best served cold and all that!


  3. Mwahahaha! I so hope I run into him in a parking lot so I can tell him he’s published online for bad driving. And it WOULD be a BMW driver šŸ˜‰

    So glad my PC has FINALLY allowed me to subscribe to your feed. Have been trying for ages!


  4. No wonder. Another BMW driver.

    I have long ago made the decision not to get mad in traffic. It works most of the time.


  5. It’s like pulling your hair in kindergarten.

    He was just trying to impress you.


  6. Laurakim, what works really well for me is just having my music turned up really loud singing along and air guitaring or whatever. Also, if you have something that will just take your mind off where you are it can be quite pleasant. Teach yourself french tapes also work a charm. šŸ˜‰

    Rebecca, I like to think of it as a public service announcement. šŸ˜€

    šŸ˜† Tamara, if you do run into him ask him what would make him do that. I still want to know. You had trouble subscribing? šŸ˜ Well I’m glad you’re on board now.

    Glugs, so when it doesn’t work – what do you do? What would make you loose your cool with someone completely?

    J.D., Mwahahaha! He failed miserably. šŸ˜‰


  7. Whahahahaaaaaa hillarious!!! Hey Mister I’ve got your numberplate and I’m pasting it on my blog tonight!!! šŸ˜† Daarsy vatso!!!

    Wow, I must try this magic sentence. No, let me rephrase “I urgently “neeeed” to try this magic sentence”!!!


  8. LOL at you posting his photo šŸ™‚


  9. Wipneus! It’s easier than it looks. šŸ˜‰

    Jeanette, šŸ˜† will it make it better if I said I thought long and hard about it before I did it?


  10. mwhahahaha … i love the fact that you are part of my family…. “CRAZY JEANS”!!!!!!


  11. šŸ˜† Hehehe…yip, we’re definitely special. šŸ˜›


  12. Yes, but what were you doing on his road. No wonder he was upset!


  13. Haha! Love the pic! I’ll be keeping an eye out.


  14. I admire your restraint and your quickness with the camera. however, if I started hearing voices in my head I’d be reaching for the xanax before the kodak


  15. Kyknoord, šŸ˜† of course how silly of me. I should try and find him (on foot) to apologise.

    Netjane, let me know if you find him okay?

    Nursemyra, my psychiatrists said I shouldn’t worry too much about that. šŸ˜‰


  16. Psychiatrists? You have more than one? Or does each of your personalities prefer a different listener? That’s pretty cool šŸ™‚


  17. šŸ˜† I used to have about 4 when I was a problem child – some lasted longer than others. I used to fire them or just piss them off terminally if they didn’t tell me what I wanted to hear. And I distinctly remember at least one of them telling me it was perfectly okay to hear voices from time to time – he’s the one that lasted the longest. šŸ˜‰


  18. Hehe.

    Being calm in traffic is proving to be a much better tactic. You are a great teacher oh Jedi master Louisa!

    šŸ˜›


  19. And you used to want a rocket launcher mounted on top of your car for such occasions! šŸ˜†


  20. ooh i can’t stand drivers like that- and gauteng is full of them!


  21. Oh well, it’s okay. I think he was having a worse day than me…that’s probably what made him cranky and road crazy.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

