h1

Adventures of the last week

25 August , 2014

image

Clearly Polka needs to see a parlour again. She’s looking a bit like Wookie from Star Wars here, which is the name I sort of leaned towards before Nicola picked Polka. ;-)

She has excellent car manners, since she spends quite a bit of time in the car with either me or us. When it’s just the two of us she sits in the front passanger seat like this, and she sings along to the radio when I do. When Nicola is in the car too, she sits like this either on the back seat, or in the foot well on the passenger side. It took her about a week right in the beginning to get the lay of the land – I can’t have her crawling underneath the peddles while I’m driving so I had to be very strict…but she picked it up super quick.

image

Secret place have put up these blue lights at all the lifts. They kind of remind me of E-toll gantries, but it still doesn’t stop me from taking the lift – especially now that we’ve moved up to the third floor. ;-)

image

Saw this on the side of the road…I imagine it’s for some sort of granite, but I do find it quirky that you’d advertise either kitchens/tombstones on the same display – almost like one had something to do with the other.

image

Another non-fan of stick people spotted.

image

On Friday my cousin, Melanie, popped in for a visit and we went out to go get pizza. It was great catching up with her again, and after Nicola made her sit through a school concert DVD and a full length animated movie, little miss passed out and the big girls got to properly chat.

image

This isn’t the best light for it, but I was trying to show Nicola that her eyes go green in the sun. She very patiently sat stil while I was trying to get the shot. ;-)

image

Playing at Ouma and Oupa’s house with Mieka in the cot. This cot is moving soon, and to soften the blow (not that she ever slept in it, but she loves playing there) we’ve said that we need the space to put up her tent for her to play in. So far, so good.

image

Birthday lunch with my ol’ buddy ol’ pal for her birthday which was on the 16th. We come a long way…we started off knowing each other as boarding school roommates way back when.

She has a particular talent of finding houses to live in that cannot be tracked with a normal GPS! Hahaha, seriously – this girl moves around a lot and I have NEVER been able to just stick her new address in my GPS and go. This time I had to install 4sq to find it, but once I worked out how to get there it wasn’t too bad.

Nicola was an absolute angel while we were there (actually the whole weekend). Seriously, more than one person at this party came over to compliment me on her behaviour – it was THAT good. The other little girls were kicking, hitting and screaming – someone had to make a sticker chart for them to get 20 minutes of peace and quiet. Nicola was just happily playing on her own, minding her own business and just checking in with me every now and then. She also made a point of thanking the one lady every time some sugar (Fizzer toffees) was sent into the mix. I was so proud of her (as always, but this time even more than usual!).

image

We left a little bit later than we planned, but at least we got to see this beautiful sunset on the way home.

Sidenote: from time to time I suspect that I may be going night blind, and I am a little bit, but not nearly as much as I thought. We used my dad’s car to go to pretoria and back and i mostly saw just fine in it…I think my car is in desperate need of a proper wash (and not the was and go type either). ;-)

image

My parents’ new neighbours are real party animals! We thought the previous lot were, but they’re not a touch on the new ones! I think they’ve had a all night party every single weekend since they’ve moved in (probably about three months now). On Saturday they really went all out, since it was the wife’s 30th. These balloons were rigged with LEDs and changed colour every few seconds…until well past 3:00 in the morning as per my mom.

Anyway, it looked fantastic…and to their credit they did invite my folks over to join the party.

image

On Sunday we went to the circus! :-D (Yes, that one – but that didn’t happen while we were there).

Nicola was beyond excited since this was the first time she’s ever been – and I think the last time I was at one I was still in primary school.

image

At the ticket office, picking up our tickets.

image

I love this photo of my little pink terrorrist. :-)

image

We had about an hour to kill before the show, so we popped in to Garden World for a walk around, because there was no way I could get Nicola to wait in the car for an hour!

She sniffed many flowers, but all very quickly and this is the only photo I managed to get of that! 7 Days till Spring Day by the way…I can’t wait!

image

image

image

They have a farm yeard there that you can walk through.

This duck was following me…I’m sure of it!

My dad saw a tortoise in the one section and he said, “Nicola, kyk! Daar’s ‘n skilpad!” She looks over and says, “Nee Oupa, dis net die skil.” He had his head, tail and feet tucked in so you could only see the shell. Mwahaha! (I would translate this, but it doesn’t translate well…sorry).

image

When we came out of the farm yard section Nicola says, “What can we do next? I know…let’s see if we can see an ice cream van? AHA! Look!” Hahaha, very subtle. ;-) So we had some ice cream.

image

On the swing with Oupa, enjoying every last bite of that ice cream…

image

image

Nicola convinced my dad to lift her onto his shoulders, the most fun ride in the world as you can see. She always grabs the poor man by his ears and then starts swaying from side to side when she’s up there!

image

Finally, the show is about to start! We’re not allowed to take photos during the show, only right at the end they give you chance to catch one of the acrobat/stunt guys in action. The cage comes off after the big cat part of the show too, but anyway – this is what it looks like right at the beginning.

I think the tiger that mauled the guy wasn’t in the show, but if he was my money is on the white tiger. He seemed not at all interested in the handler, and was checking out the audience all through their act. They really are very beautiful, but I wouldn’t want to run into one on the loose! These cats have probably grown up in the circus, but after everything – at heart, they are still wild animals.

image

image

image

All of us.

image

Someone got a pair of flashing glasses as a momento, and a light wand too – she loved every second of it!

This is the video I took, right at the end when you’re allowed to. That guy is running on the outside of that contraption…and for some parts of it, he’s doing it blind-folded!

https://vimeo.com/104270452

image

It was such a fun adventure, and we were all wiped out tired after that! Nicola passed out well before bed time, sticky from head to toe with a big smile on her face. :-D

How was your weekend?

13 comments

  1. Ag ;n skil! Pragtig! We had a great and busy one with one of the greatest parties ever yesterday afternoon.


    • I saw your post, it looks like you had a great time. :-) On 25 Aug 2014 12:40 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  2. Oh and I have never been at a circus and am not planning to go soon.


  3. Does your dad ever get cold? BRRRR :) LOVE the skilpad story! Too true!

    I went to do grocery shopping this morning at PnP, threw in 3 pairs of flip flops, a scarf (of course), a strapless top and a pair of aqua capri pants, and the cashier said, “are you going on holiday?” and then I looked down and saw an ENSEMBLE! :) So I guess I’m ready for spring too!

    Weekend? Gym, date with D, church and vegging around the house playing with photos and reading = perfect


    • The skilpad thing was too cute!

      He doesn’t…but even my dad said on Sunday that he’s had enough of this winter now. On 25 Aug 2014 3:32 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  4. Ekis dol oor sulke familie blogs…


    • Dankie! :-) On 25 Aug 2014 8:13 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  5. Ooo, Circus! That is always a hit with the little ones! I haven’t seen it? Where is it standing in our part of the woods?


    • They were only here for 2 weeks and Sunday was there last show (next to Garden World). I believe they’re headed to Randfontein next but I could be wrong…it was so much fun! On 26 Aug 2014 12:11 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  6. Wow! What a fun weekend you had. Ours seem so laid back compared to your fun filled one. Exercise, visit friend, church and come shopping and cooking, that was our weekend in a nutshell


    • It was loads of fun…but to be honest, I could do with some down time! ;-) On 27 Aug 2014 1:48 PM, “123 Blog Myself” wrote:

      >


  7. Haha…net die skil. Te koslik en kan nie vertaal word nie.


    • Ek het probeer, maar toe besluit dis dalk maar beter om dit so te los in die moedertaal. ;-)



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

