h1

I meant to post this on Monday…

12 August , 2014

Oh well…*shrug*

It’s been kind of crazy busy round here, and on top of everyrhing I’ve come down with the plague (flu) too, so all the days are kind of blending into one for me right now.

Let’s kick off with Saturday? (Or one-day part one).

My dear friend, L, popped in for a visit and while she was clowning around with Nicola, I managed to get quite a few nice photos. :-)

image

image

image

image

L has just recently qualified as a life coach. I am so proud of her, and I think she’s going to be great at it!

We were talking about attitudes in general and I had a little giggle at how she summed up mine: angry…but cheerful (positive). That is so true actually! Although I am not nearly as angry as I used to be once upon a time. ;-) Let’s just say the pushover gene doesn’t swim in my family’s gene pool. Some might say assertive? Some might…others might run and hide. Hahaha!

image

image

On Sunday (one-day part two).

As you know, every year for my birthday, I take my family on some sort of adventure.

This year with a much higher rent in the picture I decided I would attempt to feed them lunch, cooked by me, in our new place…since they haven’t broken bread with us here yet. ;-)

It’s not THAT much of an adventure really. I will freely admit to not being the best baker (it’s an exact science…and I’m fond of improvising), but cooking I’m fairly decent at actually.

image

Of course while I’m trying to keep the house sort of tidy-ish and making a birthday adventure worthy sort of lunch, Nicola insist on dragging half her soft toys into the kitchen and unpacking all the china for a make believe tea party!

image

As decreed by the pink tertorist, Polka had to wear her party dress…

image

Well, I was running around like a lunatic getting everything ready…so no time to take photos of the food, but I think it turned out really good.

We had roast leg of lamb, and pork, homemade apple sauce, freshly baked bread, creamed spinach and salad…and for desert chocolate spring rolls with ice cream and strawberries (I didn’t actually make them, R & K did…just popped them in oil and dressed them up pretty).

Everyone ate till they could hardly keep their eyes open, so I count it a giant success. :-)

image

Burst of colour at Nicola’s school.

image

Someone is just as sick of winter as I am…it’s still too chilly for this outfit in the mornings, but as soon as we get home after work she’s in short sleeves before you can say boo!

Now I think we’re on one-day part four or thereabouts. I am wallowing in some self pity and cough syrup. And I got repeatedly kicked in the kidneys last night so didn’t sleep a wink. I have a date with a bag of flu meds and then hopefully off to lala-land.

Hope your week is off to a good start…I’ve been terrible at commenting this week. Also at keeping food down and general breathing, but I promise, I have been reading and as soon as I’m myself again I’ll try to catch up.

10 comments

  1. Well now, that lunch sounds magnificent! You’re so clever!!!

    Sorry you aren’t feeling 100s… especially with not keeping food down!

    OH I learnt a good word today – self-advocacy. Which I decided I’m going to start using instead of assertive as it feels slightly less bolshy! Feel free to take it too :)


    • You know me Marcia…I don’t mind the bolshy at all. ;-)


  2. Your girl is getting prettier everyday


    • thank you :-)


  3. I hope you are feeling way better soon. And take a sick day or two from work – sometimes sleep is all that works.


    • I took three days for sleep last week, feeling much better…but still pretty awful.


  4. Love the first photos in the garden!
    This flu does not leave. I am doing a third week now… Goods luck!


    • That’s one of my favourites too. :-)
      This flu is just balls, seriously – I still feel pretty shitty and I’ve been a model patient for more than a week now. Grrr…


  5. Delightful photo post. I must admit I don’t have the “pushover” gene or the “take bullshit” gene in my gene pool…so I understand where you are at. Well done on your birthday feast…I am sure your family enjoyed it. Take care and get well soon xx


    • Thank you :-)

      Haha, yip – that gene took one look at our pool and decided it didn’t feel like swimming after all. ;-)



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

