h1

Thirty Six

9 August , 2014

It was my birthday yesterday. Thank you every single person who wished me well, sang to me and generally just went out of their way to make my day special.

I think I’ll kick off this post on Thursday though…just because I can.

image

Pretty sunrise again. It’s definitely getting lighter a bit earlier at the moment. Love it!

image

I had a bit of a laundry day dress up (or dress on) situation. Everyone kept asking me if I was going for an interview, hahaha!

I almost sent an accidental SOS from the basement parking when I arrived at work. What I was actually trying to do was take a photo of my kick ass boots, but after a firmware update I did some time this week the phone now hangs when I try to take photos in bad light. Highly annoying really…must find out if I can roll back that update or tweak it a bit to work again.

Anyway, the moral of the story is not to repeatedly hammer on the power button to try and get the phone out of its jam when you’ve set up an emergency service to send photos, voice clips and GPS coordinates for that action.

My whole family could have ended up with a SOS of my boot! Haha, luckily I remembered after two presses and before I got to three…anyhoo the light was so bad I mostly ended up with a photo of my stocking anyway.

image

Thursday night my mom and Nicola made me birthday cupcakes to take to work…so sweet.

image

Just as we were discussing leaving the icing cream coloured, Nicola took off towards the mixer with a bottle of colouring CONCENTRATE and made sure that my cupcakes would be suitably cheery.

image

Usually you put in maybe 3 drops, mwahaha!

image

We managed to scoop out some of it. All oranges wish they were this brilliant! ;-)

image

This is how pretty my cupcakes came out.

I successfully got all my colleagues on a pretty spectacular sugar rush. One of them probably had about 5 or 6 during the day, and he wished me a happy birthday every single time!

Another one of my colleagues sang to me in a Merilyn Monroe sort of way and called me Mrs President.

What’s not to love about that?! :-)

image

On my actual birthday we kicked it off with a little sad.

Nicola asked for some paper to write a letter to her dad…she drew a heart filled with scribbles (apparently says that she has a heart full of love for him, and that he must please not forget about her). Followed by a drawing of him, and a page full of princess stickers, also apparently for him.

Yeah…this is what happens when you don’t talk smack about a missing parent I guess. *sigh*

image

After work we had a lovely family dinner at my folks. My mom made my absolute favourite, her roast chicken. Sorry, no photos because as soon as it was in front of me I just climbed into it. ;-)

If I ever get into a situation where I need to choose a last meal, that’s the one I want!

image

image

image

More cake! Yumm…

If you ever feel a bit too sugared up, put some cinamon in your coffee, or even in a glas of water and drink it. Little trick someone at work taught me. She’s diabetic and it works like magic for her. Works pretty great for me too.

image

image

My parent drove home with us…

image

And shortly after they left we were all man down.

I really had a great birthday, and thank you to everyone who helped making it so.

Ps! I didn’t mention the eartquake, did I? Well, it was pretty spectacular at my office. We’re on the third floor now, and you felt it quite clearly there. It went on for what felt like MINUTES, and even the partitions between the cubicles were smacking against each other.

I happened to be on the phone with someone at the Master of the court at that time. She had asked me to hold on and then the shaking started. I said to the Queen, “Do you feel that?!” and the court lady says in my ear, “YES! YES! I feel it!”. Mwahaha! I actually thought I was on hold, so that was a bit of a surprise.

5.5 earthquake with the epicentre just outside of Orkney (about 170km from here). A lot of things got badly damaged, but luckily only one fatality when a wall fell on someone.

I think in more densely populated areas a shake up of this magnitude can lead to some serious trouble. Thank God it was not the case this time.

Pps! The Master’s offices is a very interesting (and by that I mean bewildering) place. Never mind the officials and their peculiar rituals…the lift has no buttons on the inside and you kind of just ride it to where you want to go. If it happens to stop there, get out. If it doesn’t just wait…it’ll happen eventually.

Ppps! Equally odd the grumpy guy at the Government Gazette who yells down the line at you, “Is it a section 35 or a section 29?!”. Dude…what does that even mean? Those were my exact words so he had a little grumble and put me through to someone lovely who didn’t scream in clauses. ;-)

14 comments

  1. Geluk met jou verjaarsdag


    • Dankie :-)


  2. Baie geluk met jou verjaardag. Haha…en toe is die vanilje cup cakes oranje…baie mooi ;-)


    • Wel…hulle is eintlik lemoen geur, so die oranje werk eintlik baie mooi. ;-)


  3. Glad you had a wonderful time. My first earthquake was 2 years ago, we don’t have them here, and I thought I had gone mad because the children were playing in front me of unawares!


    • We’ve had some tremors before…but nothing like this! I guess you get a bit hyper sensitive thinking about what could have happened. Yesterday I was in a workshop and the table started rocking…I thought it was another one, but it turned out some idiot was kicking it. Haha! :-P


  4. Sounds like it was a lovely day – as birthdays should be :) I throw colouring in and kinda hope for the best – never comes out the colour I actually wanted :))


    • I was a lovely birthday :-)


  5. Happy birthday! Great that you had a good one!


    • Thank you :-)


  6. Sounds like you had a great great birthday. BTW I had a bit too much sugar just before the quake and I actually thought that I was feeling a bit shaky, never mind and earthquake. Cinnamon in future


    • Seriously, try it! Works like a charm.


  7. You look sooooo beautiful in these pictures. Thrilled that you had a fantastic day – may 36 be your BEST year ever!


    • Thank you my friend :-)



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

