h1

Nicola-isms of the week

24 January , 2013

On Monday Nicola tipped out a crate of toys in the living room, after I specifically asked her not to unpack anything else till she put some things away first. “Ja mamma” uhuh…more like “Ja reg mamma”. Anyway. She found something in the bottom of said crate that got her real excited. It was the play dummy that came with her doll Mieka. Of course Mieke NEEDED this straight away, “Mieke really misses her dummy mommy.” with real tears.

So I blackmailed her. Mieka was safely strapped into the baby seat in the car, and we could go get her if Nicola picked up and put away all her toys first. “Okay mamma…” sad face. ;-) I suspect there might be a brilliant acting career in her future somewhere. Mwahaha!

After picking up roughly two of a gazillion items she tells me that she can’t do it. Of course I ask why, and she says, “Ek’s te haastig!” (I’m in too much of a hurry). Apparently that’s something the teacher tells her at school.¬† With lots of moaning and groaning we got it done eventually. (Oh I should probably mention that she first tried telling me to do it myself – hahaha – you know, becaue I am obviously the one who throws these things round in wild abondon when i get half a chance. ;-)

Later on we were getting ready for bed and out of the blue I get a smack on my hand. I look at her and she points her finger at me saying, “Stop your nonsense.” That’s definitely not from me, again channeling the teacher. I had good fun quoting all these things to the teacher the next morning, she looked a bit embarrased at least. :lol:

And then last night at my parents’ place, Nicola works herself into a state about some small thingy that she’s looking for and she turns to my dad saying, “Oupa, we need to find the tiny hello kitty. Do you have a clue?” He said no, and she says, “I don’t have a clue either!” Mwahaha – I don’t know if I’m describing this well enough, but it was hilarious the way she said it. She gets so¬†intense about things that her whole little body almost seems to vibrate from sense of purpose and excitement, it’s really beyond adorable to see.

20121228_103102

This photo was taken in December (some of you may have seen it in my fb album already)…

20121228_135849

Playing with the tool set I gave her (they’re all heavy duty plastic, so not too much chance of actually doing in a thumb by accident). She LOVES it, but whenever you ask her what she’s making she always says clock hands… :-)

20121228_142111

Snoozy photo… what a cutie! :-D

12 comments

  1. Oh my boys have that very same tool set – great toy! And so much cuteness here


    • Nicola loves it! She’s been looking for her own screwdriver for ages.


  2. Love that first photo and will you tell Nicola most of us haven’t got a clue either? We’re just faking it :) :)


    • Hahaha! I’ll tell her… ;-)


  3. Conclusion, Nicola is a comedian :-)

    I have tears streaming down my eyes from laughing. She is just too funny
    :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)


    • You’ll see on Sunday – she’s even funnier in person.


  4. Kids really do pick up a lot of things from their teachers, I saw it with my children too. Their role models like us their parents.


    • Yip…they’re always learning…and not always what you’re trying to teach them. ;-)


  5. LOL…Joel also tells me to Stop my Nonsense. And to cross my legs and put my hands on my lap!


    • Hahaha…why do you need to cross your legs?


  6. She’s making clock hands?!


    • Hahaha…that’s what she says she’s doing. I think it’s from Mickey Mouse, they have an episode where they make clock hands and she’s been fascinated with clocks ever since she saw it the first time.



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

