h1

Walk in the CBD

15 January , 2013

image

As promised, here are some of the photos I took on my phone when I went on the walk with Jeanette and Marcia last week:

Everyone’s taking photos of the buildings, and here I am looking at the grass…typical! :lol:

This grows in between the mining buildings and I really like it. Not my first photo of this either, but anyhoo – there you have it, CBD grass.

I was telling them that this is the first job I’ve ever had IN the CBD and I was actually pleasantly surprised at how green it all was, since I was kind of expecting a scary concrete jungle before I got here. Now I go for a stroll fairly often (not as far as we went) and it’s not really all that intimidating at all.

image

I always see these things but i’ve never given them a closer look. They are indeed fish ponds. So pretty! I have no idea why the people who work in these buildings don’t even have their lunch on the lawns – must be forbidden?

image

The water feature…

image

The Coca-Cola add on the side of one of the buildings.

image

image

image

We weren’t actually allowed to take photos inside the library – so this time i made sure that i wasn’t seen doing it (no small feat since security was following us around). Sadly i only managed to get one that wasn’t blurred beyond recognition because of my manouvres to evade detection. ;-)

 

image

image

image

 

image

image

image

image

The  photos are all in reverse order of when I took them for some reason, and I couldn’t be bothered to try and switch them around now before I post (actually the first one I tried to drag disappeared so I’ll just leave them this way).

Anyhoo, one sneaky photo when they weren’t looking of my two friends, and then the other one was when I told them to smile for a photo, unfortunately I managed to catch Marcia with her eyes closed – but you get the idea.

One thing I didn’t take a photo of which I wish I had was this one spot where three very young boys were sitting on the pavement with one colouring book between them and a handful of crayons. It’s kind of awesome and kind of sad all at the same time, if you know what I mean? There were no adults with them, they were completely alone sitting on a side walk colouring in, in the middle of the CBD. I can’t imagine ever letting Nicola loose on her own in town if I can help it at any age – I’m guessing their parents can’t help it?

I had a great time! Thanks guys…

22 comments

  1. I can only imagine that photo that you didn’t take. It makes me sad thinking about it.
    I’m pretty jealous that you three had such an awesome photowalk but happy that you three enjoyed it so much.
    I have to say, that the one of the grass is indeed my favorite photo.


    • It really was a lot of fun, I hope we get to do something like this again soon!


  2. Love the library one :) I loved the walk :) we should do it again and go to Chinatown and Newtown


    • Sounds good to me! :-D


  3. Your pics are BEAUTIFUL. LOVE pic number 1 the most. x


    • Thank you!


  4. I’ve got that photo! Not the greatest pic I ever took but I also wanted the emotion captured.

    CRIKEY, now I feel the pressure. I’ll have to do a part one and a part two. I’m on 125 of 151 so nearly there…

    PS Jeanette, I’m on for Newtown!


    • I’m glad you got one of them. I’m looking forward to seeing your post Marcia (no pressure) ;-)


  5. PPS I love the Standard Bank one!


    • Thank you!


  6. I’m turning emerald just looking at the pictures :-)

    I never leave work early enough to be able to do these type of things…

    Actually love them all and they give me a new found appreciation of CBD. Amazing the things you don’t see when you drive past.

    I had a little chuckle at you sneaking a picture even though you were told not to, it is so what I would do too, just for the fun of it ;-)


    • I took half a day’s leave to do the walk, that way I know I don’t have to feel guilty about it. Luckily I could arrange visitor’s parking for everyone else at the secret place too, which makes it a bit easier I think.

      If someone tells me NOT to take photos, without giving me a proper reason then I kind of feel compelled to NOT listen. I don’t do well with “because I said so” in general. ;-)


      • Ha Ha Ha. I can tell you were that child who would touch a hot pot or wet paint once you were told not to. I know I suddenly have the urge once you tell me not to LOL ;-)

        BTW, Jeanette looks like a school girl in that picture of the stairs :-)


  7. Why can’t you take pictures in the library?


    • The security guard told us not to… but Louisa’s a rebel :)


    • He didn’t give us a proper reason – that’s why I took one anyway. I suppose it could be that they don’t want the people visiting to be disturbed? Or maybe they don’t want anyone showing how much these places have been neglected? No idea really – that’s why I took the photo anyway. ;-)


  8. Love the pics…did not know JHB CBD was so pretty…have this idea in my head that it is all dirt and cement


    • So did I! Some parts are exactly like that, to be fair – but they’re doing a lot at the moment to perk it up a bit again.


  9. I *LOVE* your (first) grass photo!!

    The kids with the colouring book gave me a lump in my throat. because it is so sad and so beautiful at the same time!


    • Thanks Michelle! :-) That’s exactly how I felt about those kids too.


  10. What a great outing and really, great shots.


    • It was loads of fun! :-D



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

