h1

So what did we get up to yesterday?

20 December , 2012

It’s our tradition to have a little adventure on Nicola’s actual birthday – just the two of us. I suppose at some point she’ll prefer spending the day with friends, but for now I am really enjoying this special day with her all by myself.

My initial plan was to let her sleep till she wakes up to start with. At 4:00am she woke up asking for chocolate. My first thoughts were that this was going to be a loooong day is we started that way. I told her it’s sleep time so no she couldn’t, and thankfully she fell right asleep again.

At 07:00am (much better!) she woke up again and the first words out of her mouth were, “Kan ek NOU sjokolade kry asseblief mamma?” Mwahaha!

So we started our day with chocolate… ;-)

We had a nice breakfast of Nicola’s favourite things (other than chocolate which we already had), and then we headed off to Cresta to go see Rise of the Guardians. By the skin of our teeth we managed to make the 9:30am show. That, in my opinion, is really the best timeslot to take little people to cinemas – because all the other people in there have the same and no one expects to get through a whole feature in silence.

Nicola was not at all taken by the movie. About half way through she was trying her best to get a way out of it. In her quest she also discovered the projector at the back and to be honest she was much more fascinated by that than by the actual movie. ;-)

When I asked Nicola what she wanted to do on her birthday she told me that she wanted to go shopping, so we did a bit of that after the movie. We also ran around in the water fountains outside which she enjoyed until her shoes got wet and then she was completely over it.

She wanted to go home for lunch, so off we went. We ended up playing around with the hose pipe outside again for a bit (it was a really hot day), and she got so soaked that we had to do a complete change of clothes after. Lots and lots of laughing and clowning around though.

I thought we might be looking at an afternoon nap (that would have definitely made it to my wish list) but she was having none of that at all. She wanted to go shopping again, so we went to go buy my mom some flowers at the local supermarket (we don’t actually need anything right now, so that’s all I could come up with for all these shopping expiditions she wanted, also who doesn’t like getting flowers, right?).

We popped into a local toy and stationery shop and Nicola had some fun trying on every hat they had in the store. She wanted the sombrero (definitely my daughter), but I decided that we didn’t need that one – we were only looking (she doesn’t know it yet but there is already a hat in one of her Christmas gifts, so she’s already sorted on that front).

After that we headed over to my folks for our usual Wednesday visit. My brother and K also came round and we had a good old fashioned catch up and dinner there. A nice relaxed day all round really. :-)

20121111_163659

20121111_16371320121111_164107

 

13 comments

  1. That sounds like a perfect day to me – some time at home, some time shopping…, and a meal cooked by someone else! HAHAHA :)


    • Mwahaha! Exactly. ;-)


  2. A lovely way to spend a birthday, chocolates, family, food, love, fun and some retail therapy. Couldn’t ask for more, except maybe more chocolates :-) ;-)

    What is it with kids and shopping. My cousin’s daughters (6 and 8 years old) have promptly informed me they want to do proper shopping and not window shopping when their mom explained to them what window shopping is :-)


    • Hahaha! Luckily we’re not there yet…the biggest thrill for Nicola at this point is riding in the trolley I think. ;-)


  3. Sounds like a great holiday to me


    • I think so too! :-)


  4. What a lovely day! I think I may actually introduce this next year with mine!! We are going to see Rise of the Guardians – I can not wait!


    • I’m planning on doing this for as long as I can. Luckily she has her birthday in the school holidays, but I would keep her home even if she didn’t.

      Enjoy the movie!


  5. Missed her birthday…. So a very belated happy birthday to her


    • Thank you! :-)


  6. I used to love making a fuss of my knucklehead on his birthday.


    • I bet you still do? ;-)


      • I try… I always make sure he has a gift and I try to make plans for a dinner, but he doesn’t always want to go along with it. :P



Say something...come on! You know you want to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

